Updates on the loom

in #crafts7 years ago

I have been working on getting the loom put up since sunday. Yesterday I had to go with my son to revisit the doctor so I got a break and he got rid of his bandage. Nothing in his hand was broken, only a smaller injury to the soft tissues.

I think I can call this a minor set back. I had to remove the warp that my mother-in-law had on the loom and start all over with it, trying to get it on evenly. I will show you. Don't mind the mess in the background, it's still a lot of things stored out there.

20171002_122637.jpg

I went to visit the weaving ladies and I got home with a sense of confidence. I also went by the library and got some books about weaving. I managed to assemble the loom with lots of help from my hubby, I suspect he helped his mum from time to time. When we began to look at the warp it was obvious that something wasn't quite right, so we started pulling the warp off and I did a real mess of it.

20171002_231614.jpg

This is not how you are supposed to get it off, but I don't think I had much of a choice at this point.

20171004_105018.jpg

I started to untangle the warp treads in small amounts and started to wind it back on the warp beam. We found the problem and we fixed it, some of the treads was a bit off at the beginning.
20171004_104519.jpg

It took me somewhere around 8 hours to get it all back on the beam but it's there now! I believe the warp is about 20 metres long.

20171004_120442.jpg

I'm getting really excited now. I only have a few steps left to do and then I can start carding some wool and begin to make rugs! I really hope that this will work. I have to say, I figured out why I never manage to win anything. My luck has been saved up for the moment when I got my spinning wheel and now this loom. I can't even describe how grateful I am.

Time for some lunch and then I'm going back to the barn :-)
Have a great day!
//S

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @blocktrades valued at 93.21 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Congratulations @arcticgarden, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 1580 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3795.59. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I actually didn't expect a post about a loon when I clicked on the new tab, there's always been a few of them in my families homes; unused because they were from my grandmothers time... rural living they made almost everything from scratch.
Love the pictures.

Thank you, I hope it was a nice surprise! The loom used to belong to my mother-in-law, she was probably from the same generation as your grandmother. It's nice to hear that your family kept the looms, I guess they were of great value to the women who owned them.

Very nice, looking forward to se what coming out :)

Thanks 😊I can't wait to get started!

That is so exciting! I'm really happy for you. And to be able to have someone close by who can help you out if you get stuck makes it even better. You will have it down pat in no time and I am willing to bet that your rugs will be beautiful...if your Santas are any indication!

Thank you so much for your encouragement! I'm sitting here with a BIG smile! I really hope this will work, I have so much I would like to do. I'm so glad to have the weaving ladies, I actually consider to join them. I would probably learn a lot from them.

really enjoyed reading about the jouney you took - a spinning wheel and a loom are projects for the upcoming years here as well... so I love to have a peak here and there - we are "hand spinning" for now - maybe a good thought for a post next week lol cheers from the seven mountains in Germany

I have some plans for this winter so it's probably a subjekt I'll come back to quite often. I'd love to see your hand spinning 😊 Following!

We'll be having a major construction area in the house starting next week... taking out a piece of one wall and building a basic oven with tiles and clay... couldn't find a translation for "Lehmgrundofen".... and after this is done there will be the perfect setting for the handspinning :-) so you'll probably have to wait until December... :-)

Big projects! I know how long that sort of things can take. We live in a old house, we have been working on the kitchen for over a year and we still don't have handles or paint on the cabinet doors. We did put in a old merchant disk and at least we finished that. We started building a cabin instead. The results of your labour are worth every hour you put in to it! You have to keep us updated, that oven sounds very interesting!

Our house was built in 1960 and ever since we moved in 6 years ago we are "under construction" somewhere in it or around it lol But as you say, the results of your labour are worth every hour you put into it! Just now on the very last and final steps on finishing the terrasse we started in May :-) I'll keep you updated and look forward to your upcoming posts!! Cheers from the seven mountains in Germany

That is quite a set up. Wonder what you are going to weave? I have always been intrigued with weaving, but no time to fit that in. Living vicariously through you! Lol🐓🐓

That's life, we can't do it all 😊 I have been dreaming about weaving, but never really did anything to get started and then I got this loom. I'll take that as a hint to what I'm supposed to do. My plan is to make wool rugs from raw wool, don't know if I can, not yet 😉

You have an amazing gift to do so many things. I have no doubt that you will weave a beautiful rug. Can't wait to see it. 🐓🐓

Thank you so much for sharing your loom set up! So exciting!! Can't wait to see the next step! My friend made her living as a single mom with weaving and making beeswax candles once upon a time :)
And I am so happy for you that you got a good upvote! You so deserve that!

That sounds like a great achievement to be able to manage as a single mum on weaving and candles! I'm impressed!

My ex-wife has been making her living as a weaver and maker of hand-woven clothing for the last 30 years. My oldest son is also a weaver and uses a "walking" loom to weave...wait for it...horse blankets. Now these aren't just any horse blankets. These are high end saddle blankets for the jumping horse set. They are color coordinated with the rider's clothing. His blankets have won awards and retail for around $600 USD. He also makes his living weaving. I hope this isn't considered spam. My ex's website if you're interested. She isn't on Steemit...yet!

I find that very interesting to hear. I'll visit her website, thanks for sharing. I imagine the horse blankets are very high quality!

Very high quality and many with his own designs. My son is a big guy: 6'4", 260 lbs, so he can really pound that yarn tight in the warp. The loom is also super heavy duty, custom built by a guy in New Mexico who no longer makes them. It's a true heir-loom.

A true craftsman. I'm truly impressed by that kind of people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25