My Custom Notepad - Art+Craft!

in #crafts7 years ago (edited)

cover.jpg
greetings.jpg

Good Day Steemians!

Today, I'm showing you how I made this little customized squared booklet. It combines Art heavily into Crafting, I've given it a name: "ArtCraft". We will start off this post by learning how to make "Splatter Art" on cardboard that will serve as the covers of this 'ArtCraft'.

Here are the steps, if you wish you can even follow it and craft your Notepad in the comforts of your home. Enjoy:

First of all, get yourself a cardboard (can be from scrap boxes) that you'll make use as the canvas (This is actually from an old shoebox in our house). I drew boxes on it with pencils. They will guide us on which part to paint.

20171008_083012.jpg

I started off by adding 2 blobs of light gray paint onto the cardboard, this will serve as our base color. Make sure you add enough paint for both boxes.

20171008_083411.jpg

Next up is to spread the base paint across the boxes that we drew. Make sure to cover all the parts of it, if needed then add more paint in case there are still unpainted spaces on it.

20171008_083611.jpg

Add a few drops of paint on it. For this step I chose 3 different paints of white, black, and dark blue. I poured them randomly onto the already painted area.

20171008_083800.jpg

I ran the tip of toothpicks across the paint till they mix a bit and produced some effects. In case the paint isn't that fluid or if there are parts that you think needs more colors, just add more paint on it.

20171008_084352.jpg

After that I splattered yellowish paint onto it using cardboard and an unused toothbrush. By flickering the toothbrush onto the cardboard, paint will splatter into one direction and will produce cool splatter effects. If you wish to, you can add more colors and apply the same technique.

20171008_084912.jpg

Once done, we just have to allow the paint to dry up before we cut them out. While doing so, I have prepared the pages of the notepad.

20171008_091843 (1).jpg

For this, I looked for an unused notebook and cut them out into rectangles that I can fold in half t squares. I stitched them into place so they can form a 'book'.

20171008_093440.jpg

Here's how the covers look like. They're all dried up now so I started cutting them out using the guides I drew on the start.

20171008_110014.jpg

I just used scissors to cut them, however I suggest using a ruler and a blade/cutter so that you can get more clean cuts on them. Make sure that both of them are of the same size. You can choose the orientation of your covers to test which side looks best for the front or the back or which orientation would look best.

20171009_092944.jpg

Since they were heavily painted, the cardboard was still a bit moist and has lost its shape. I had to put it under a stack of books I have to make them flatter. While doing that I started adding some things onto the notepad's pages. As you can see in this photo, I added my Steemit tagline "I have a heart for art & a stomach for eating". I have white glue ready because I'll need to stick those covers onto the notepad once they look better.

20171010_031228.jpg

Here's how the 2 of the covers looked like. I made these shots really big so the details will look bigger and more noticeable. This one will become our front cover:

20171009_102157.jpg

While this one is going to be our back cover:

20171009_102207.jpg

Now, we will have to join the notepad piece to the cover pieces, I used the white glue for this. Put glue on the sides of the last page of the notepad and spread them then stick the cover onto it. Make sure the orientation and alignment is right.

IMG20171027124315.jpg

Press down the sides and wait a bit till it dries up. You can also add weight on top of it to make sure the adhesive will really stick those 2 pieces together.

IMG20171027124453.jpg

I did the same thing on the back cover and laid the whole piece flat on the surface, I added wait and waited a few minutes, making sure they've stuck together properly.

IMG20171027124702.jpg

There you have it, here's my custom notepad I made to share with you guys! I've been quite busy so I made this ultra lengthy post to compensate for the number of days I can't make one. All I did the past week was lurk around the website and comment on some posts.

IMG20171027124709.jpg

Here are some close-up shots of my notepad. Here you can see how I joined them on one side. You'll see the stitches I made.

IMG20171027124741.jpg

Another shot that shows the binded side of my notepad.

IMG20171027124736.jpg

Lastly, here's one more shot of my tagline that I wrote onto the notepad's first page. I turned that quote into an artwork too by drawing the 'heart' and 'stomach' instead of writing them out. I guess I'll name those "ArtQuotes". Haha.

IMG20171027124756.jpg

Thank you so much for reaching the end of my post. I hope you did enjoy the process work I've shown you today. I enjoyed making this Art+Craft especially the part where I painted the covers, it was a lengthy and delicate process. I've seen better artwork like that here but please excuse me since it is my first time creating something like that. What do yu think of my piece? Care to share it in the comments? I'd appreciate that a lot!

goodbye.jpg
flamered footer.jpg

Sort:  

The result was really interesting. For me the first one seemed to be a kind of beach, and the second cover seemed to be the earth viewed from space. Of course is what I see, I wouldn't be surprised if you don't see that at all haha

Thank you so much - I really love how you imagine things from looking at my work - I honestly don't see anything in it other than splatters and stuff. :D

haha as you said it is imagination! Other people might see completely different things. But most of all art should make spectators see or feel something beyond beauty, I think

This is an amazing crafting you have there. Do great!


Mabuhay! Your post has been upvoted and resteemed by the @bayanihan curation group.

Well Done Brother Waiting For Next One

That is really cool. I think I am going to try this as well! I have always enjoyed making books and this is a creative and unique way to do so.

Thank you so much! :D

𝓾𝓼𝓮 𝓽𝓱𝓲𝓼 𝓵𝓲𝓷𝓴 𝓯𝓵𝓪𝓶𝓮𝓻𝓮𝓭.
http://qaz.wtf/u/convert.cgi?text=use+this+link+flamered.
𝕒𝕟𝕕 𝕤𝕙𝕒𝕣𝕖 𝕚𝕥 𝕡𝕝𝕖𝕒𝕤𝕖

𝙩𝙝𝙖𝙩 𝙞𝙨 𝙖 𝙬𝙖𝙣𝙣𝙖 𝙘𝙧𝙮 𝙫𝙞𝙧𝙪𝙨 𝙡𝙞𝙣𝙠 ;)
ⓙⓤⓢⓣ ⓚⓘⓓⓓⓘⓝⓖ

Congratulations @flamered! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @flamered! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55