A drawing a day : on the theme of 'chance'

in #creative6 years ago

Yesterday our theme for a 'drawing a day' was ‘chance’...

I started on the hand straightaway and then came up with an overall plan… The chance discovery of wings on a pig - it was my play on the expression 'And pigs can fly'

The drawing took shape quite quickly but to be honest I found it hard to place the wings properly… I’m more about showing movement than ‘detail’.

I decided to include a farmer on the picture, but then it became a female farmer… The reason was lack of space on the page. I aimed for an expression of surprise on her face.

I got to this point and could have left it there. The daily challenge has to be done fast and so far the main delay was me stopping to take the photos.

As I was at home working at the table for a change rather than in the car, I decided to give it a watercolour wash… lack of detail and all.

Then I realised my mistake painting the back 😁...

As you can see below when I tried to fix it by adding the blue colour, the 'skin' colour still showed through… oh well...


I decided on only a few colours and worked quickly. The paper is not really for watercolour so you can see my failed attempt at the poor pig with clear pink blotches…

I continued regardless … lesson learnt.

So here’s the finished watercolour… with the watercolour set next to it. You can see that the sketchbook is quite small and it has that ‘leaf frame’ design… I actually like it and I often include it in my drawing a day design…

I often write on my drawing… Here I got a bit carried away with the biro trying to fix the shape of the wings.



All drawings, photos and musings by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

Fun and creative subject. This is the first drawing I have seen you do since I just started following this week. You usually draw in the car? Thats impressive. Interesting post. Nice drawing!

Thanks @steven-patrick.
Have you heard of Inktober ? I missed it during November last year, so my daughters started giving me words and then @cryptojelly joined me (not posting...). We send the drawings to each other.
It's a good way to spend time while waiting in the car + doing something 'productive' + improving skills... For me the difficulty is to remember/take the time to take photos of the process 'to prove' I've actually done the drawing - it interrupts the creative flow ...📖✍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97