DO YOU THINK THIS IS CHEATING, OR JUST A CREATIVE EXPERIMENT THAT MAY WORK OUT?

in #creative5 years ago

I'm really interested to see the end result of this!


Growing Snake Gourds is still a rather new experience for me. After we tried growing them last year, they quickly became one of my top three garden plants and we hope to have them as a staple in our garden and in our kitchen for years and years to come. This year I'm even running a "Snake Gourd Growing Contest" to encourage others to grow this incredible plant and experiment with it.

In my efforts to grow a long one, I've already had one hit over 50 inches, so I'm very excited. (The photo above was taken when it was younger. As I contemplate how to grow a really long one (I hear that they can reach seven feet in length) I run into a potential issue....

You see, these gourds spend quite a bit of energy growing in width as well as in length. I figure if they were thinner, then they'd have more energy to invest in growing longer, so I decided to try slipping a long plastic tube over a young one in hopes of it staying slimmer and therefore potentially getting longer as a result. Do you think it'll work? Do you think it's "cheating" in a contest? Can you think of a better idea?

TOTALLY TUBULAR SNAKE GOURD PHOTOS

Until next time…

Make today special!


Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER A STANDARD COPY OF MY FIRST BOOK EVER

CLICK HERE TO ORDER AN AUTOGRAPHED COPY OF MY BOOK

Sort:  

heheh, well

@papa-pepper ... i'd say

cheating is defined as a concept by the losing party

so i'm guessing you are not ... i gotta show that to my cousin lol, he's got the best tomatoes and courgettes money can't buy every once a year .. that would be cool stuff :D

pardon the split but ive been talking too much and i need RC to re-grow for my post ... you can tell the haters Nicolo says i'm right and he was a humanist, so ... in times like these i'm more prone to him than to the likes of santa Theresa anyway :) great idea man, if it werent for light you could actually get more of them per square metre but they need light , right ? if they hang too close they're not gonna get enough unless you add artificials (which, i assume, foregoes the whole concept of homesteading and would be cheating ;-) lol)
Just be careful you don't get the plant liberation front for stocking up too many in one cage
(just being punnny guys, you know i like tha ALF ... - even if dubbed terrorist organisation in soviet helgium but what not hm ...)

right, sorry for the split answer again, good stuff!!!!!!

I think it will work, but I think it is cheating... And painful to them.

I think it will work,
But I think it is cheating...
And painful to them.

                 - felipejoys


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Creative i'd say! Gentle encouragement 💯🐒

Well, lets see if it works. If it does, you could try growing square ones next year, like the Japanese do with the melons. Would be fun, don't yo think?

I was considering that...

Wow cool, what a fun experiment! If it's not in the rules, then.... I think it's just a smart solution and a little help for the nature ;) Exciting to see how long they can be!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95