The Key to Vengeance

in #creativecoin5 years ago (edited)

underwater-1216244_1920.jpg

source

I tapped the wristband control, fingers flying over the miniature screen, and felt the familiar tingle as my skin morphed into a covering of scales. The time I spent on the little remaining dry land was growing shorter and shorter. In all my searches to date, I had found no traces of any other humans.

“Gork, I’m ready to head back to Mercy,” I transmitted through my communications array. In a few short minutes, Gork surfaced and slapped his tail on the water.

“Hurry up, Alex, we’ve been in this latitude too long. We need to get back to the base before AFIT notices we’ve been out of our vector again.”

This was the last piece of wretched rock I needed to search. Though I hadn’t held high hopes, there was always the possibility that I could find other humans like myself who had mutated for survival under the sea. I climbed on Gork’s back and settled behind his dorsal fin on the smooth glistening back.

We submerged and headed down into the deep blue sea. I experienced the normal disorientation as my body fought the thought of breathing in the water, but soon had acclimated. The sea was alive with all manner of creatures now that the waters had reclaimed almost all the dry land. The beauty was breathtaking with the waters now being crystal clear and cleansed of all the manmade pollution of the prior centuries.

Gork swam effortlessly toward our destination, the underwater city of Mercy, and used the time to lecture me on the futility of these off the grid excursions to find other humans. Since I’d heard this particular song-and-dance several times in the past few months I let my mind wander to where I might search next.

AFIT, the AI in charge of operations in Mercy, pinged me and informed Gork and I that we were several hours overdue back at the city. I heard Gork groan and felt his consternation at being pinpointed by AFIT. “We are almost back to Checkpoint D, the sonar array was giving us some funky readings, so we took some extra time to scout the area.” I patted Gork’s side with reassurance and held my breath awaiting AFIT’s response.

“There will be a mandatory meeting of all outpost workers in the CommRoom at 0-fifteen hundred. Make arrangements to be in attendance.” AFIT transmitted his announcement and promptly disconnected.

“What do you make of that, Gork?” We haven’t had a mandatory group meeting since I’ve been a part of the Mercy community.”

I could feel Gork’s relief at not being reprimanded for being out of vector again. He responded cheerfully, “I don’t know, Alex, I’ve never heard of a mandatory meeting ever being called. Maybe we’re all getting a raise!”

As we approached the fissure that led to the downward route to Mercy we could see a strange orange glow emanating upward out of the fissure. Floating debris and foreign particles seemed to spread out in all directions from the huge crevice in the seafloor. I felt an immediate stirring of emotions from Gork, the most prevalent being fear. He emitted a high shrill keening, which was his version of DANGER - DANGER - DANGER!

Gork made abrupt three-sixty and began hurtling us toward an outcropping of rocks and caves that we had explored many times.

Gork slowed to a stop and glided into the mouth of the large opening that concealed a fairly good-sized cavern. I slid off his trembling back and walked forward to caress his snout soothingly. We both tried to contact AFIT through our telecoms but met with the same result of dead silence. As I looked into Gork’s eyes I could see the same realization reflected back at me, the Delphanians had struck. After months of battle planning and preparations, it seemed the Delphanians had destroyed Mercy before the city knew what hit them.

I sank slowly to a seated position and felt the beginning of panic and despair start to take over. How would I live now without the underwater city of Mercy to take care of me? Gork would be fine, he was an amphibian after all, but my scale permutation and water breathing ability were not endless.

Gork sidled over and gave me a slight shove with his snout. “You can’t just give up, Alex! We have to find a way to fight back. We can’t let our city and all our friends be destroyed by those fiends with no attempt at retribution. We have to calm down and make a survival plan.”

As I picked myself up from being shoved over by Gork my hand landed on an odd-shaped pulsing object covered with the silt we had stirred up with our abrupt entry. The main body was a hexagon with a rounded knob at each joint and a forked attachment at the bottom. It fit easily in my hand and I could feel a faint vibration as well the rhythmic pulsing.

“Gork, could this be what I think it is?” I tapped at my wristband control, heartened to see that the screen display came up. The power grid surrounding the city was still functioning. At least that part of AFIT’s battle preparations had worked as intended. I scanned the item I had found and the results were what I had suspicioned. It was a Delphanian Key Control. Members of the attacking party must have used this cavern for a staging area.

A DKC would unlock any gateway in the Delphanian domain. If I could program my control unit to morph me into a likeness of a Delhanian I could gain access to their city. Once inside I would spend every waking second finding a way to avenge Mercy.

“Come on Gork, let’s head back to the surface. We have work to do!”

signature_1.gif

text15.png

If you enjoy writing short fiction stories (less than 1,000 words) I'd love to have you join me on Narrative. Don't abandon STEEM - add Narrative and cross post your Steem content for more exposure. Here's a link directly to my page featuring Flash Fiction:

Join me on Narrative

Get in on the ground floor and see what it's all about. If you have any questions, feel free to ask me in the comments.

FLASH_FICTION_LOGO.gif

blueeyes8960.gif

5ShzsKnKF7vppGeV6VN3m3GSDcLoRruAhMmifZtFSDkYScLtVyWb1vMNEZUd6n8eJ9GR6KR1rEAXSfznQ6tuJnfFFUCrcmnUydT1wuuXmBBjZamfSkSx7R8QtzbrL9NhAYedbrYR5Ezg72WQDmadya61.gif



[credit@EdibleCthulhu]

99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

2id58ntr4e.png

Sort:  

Fabulous storytelling I was drawn so into the story

Thanks for this great post and being an active member of @steemusa !tip

Thanks @tatoodjay, glad it captured your attention for a few minutes! And thanks for the tip!

Most welcome 👍😎👍

🎁 Hi @blueeyes8960! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: My Actifit Report Card: August 2 2019 Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Nice sci-fi storytelling! I read a bunch of sci-fi when I was younger. Not as much recently but your post makes me more interested in reading some again.

Thanks @lightsplasher, I'm glad you enjoyed it and reawakened your interest in reading some more sci-fi!

A great story @blueeyes8960! I'll be participating in #2 also, so see you on Narrative. :)

Cool @free-reign - I'll be looking for your entry! And don't forget about the curation part as well - best comment on any entry will win 250 NRVE as well.

Thanks for the heads up @blueeyes8960. I think i had an issue where I couldn't see how to comment, but maybe that was for replying to comments and not the post. I can't remember. I haven't been over there much because I just want to post content there that's unique to Narrative, at least for now. Time is a bit of a barrier, of course. :)

I enjoyed your science fiction story. You have a knack for story telling.

@redheadpei - thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

A great story indeed that had me spellbound as I read.
You have a very fertile imagination my friend.
Blessings!

This is cool! Underwater city of Mercy ((:

You got a 19.13% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @blueeyes8960! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01