Sort:  

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #596.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

100 Snax tokens will be in your wallet by next Monday courtesy of @crowdmind. Learn More

Wow. Why is the country so poor and in such disrepair? Do they not have natural resources, soil to grow food, and so on?
Thanks for the interesting photos!

It is poor. Really their only industry is their port/shipping, and also money from the military base leases. I'm not sure the money they do take in is managed very well, which is normal in this part of the world.

Posted using Partiko Android

Is the land not fertile, at least? They can't take advantage of the sunshine, and produce food and textile etc? I understand they're poor in money and currency, but it appears they're barely scraping together the basics. I feel badly for people, when I see them not doing well, especially when I know so much better is possible. It makes me wish I could help, even if it's just doing what I can from where I am to make the world a better place.

It's pretty much barren desert there unfortunately. The ocean nearby has great fishing though. The scuba diving and snorkling is one of the few reasons tourists make the trip. In the fall you can swim with whale sharks, which is incredible.

Having been to Africa a few times although not to Djibouti I am aware of where it is and thanks for sharing these shots from there

Looks like a beautiful country to be in.

It is a peaceful place to be sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=joshman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=livingindjiboutiafricapart110photos-qr7aipunut


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you joshman! You've just received an upvote of 63% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thank you joshman! You've just received an upvote of 42% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94