Victoria's Symphony Splash 2019

in #creativecoin5 years ago

What if they put a symphony orchestra on a barge and 40,000 people showed up to watch them play? Check out the fireworks and cannon-fire at the end!

On Sunday the 30th annual Symphony Splash event was held in Victoria BC's Inner Harbour and a huge crowd showed up to take in the music and fireworks. As usual, the best seats in the house are reserved for those with kayaks and canoes. Have you ever seen anything like this?

3koq5meny1.jpg

This annual event always finishes with a performance of Tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture complete with cannon-fire at the end. Below you can see the teenage Sea Cadets who will fire blank shells from antique cannons at precisely the right moment in time with the music. I'll admit right now that I was only there for the cannons!

edj4bndxxu.jpg

Every year I attempt to capture the guns at the exact instant they fire. This year I've got a new camera with a high speed mode... Check out this sequence of 50 shots which I made into a gif. (I've compressed the file quite a bit to reduce the size, the original was way too large to post.)


9cv0cr501g.gif

As the last shots ring out a fireworks display begins, launched from the opposite shore. I liked the illusion that the cannons were launching the fireworks but no... they were just shooting blanks. Those guns are very loud, and I wish I had worn ear protection... ouch!

e5t3pt6k7q.jpg

Finally, when bagpipes appeared on the scene I had to leave. After all, there's only so much abuse my ears can take!

opwq5wbr9b.jpg

What an awesome night for music and photography, I had such a blast! All photos were taken by me, @keithboone, August 4th, 2019 with an Olympus EM-1.2 camera.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63746.34
ETH 3048.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97