Picture of the Day – Space Light

in #creativecoin5 years ago

I had some fun playing around with photo processing and digital software and made this image this morning:

20190727_190151mod.jpg

Space Light

I was kind of trying for a bit of fantasy feel here, perhaps like light from some unknown origin. What is that picture of? Any clues?

There were a few layer effects and filtering in this photo but no brushwork.

Here’s the original photo for comparison:

20190727_190151org.jpg

I bet you know what it is now.

When I was done with my eBike ride yesterday the light coming off the disc brake rotor was making an interesting pattern on the garage wall. I thought that maybe that I could use it in some creative work so I took a quick picture with the smartphone.

Perhaps next time I might try capturing the light pattern against some black paper or something. There are some interesting scattering effects of the light going through the slots in the rotor that would be fun to capture in better detail.

Ooow, I could turn this into a STEM post and start babbling on and on about if light is a particle or a wave. (Perhaps not, I think my creativity has already gotten me in a bit of trouble with that crowd, lol)

Photons. I think there are still some of them bouncing around out there from the big bang. Cosmic background radiation or something like that. Maybe light is just the skin of dark material pealing off. (Extra credit creative explanation, LOL)


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The picture was taken by me with my Galaxy S9+ and modified in software. Text and graphics copyright lightsplasher & litesplasher.

Sort:  

Whenever I feel the urge to know I am not good at physics, I like to read up on the delayed choice quantum eraser experiments! Cool stuff.

Sounds like interesting reading material, I will need to look into that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71