Challenging Music - Two New YouTube Videos

in #creativecoin4 years ago (edited)

pcropped.jpg

In the last day or so I've posted two new YouTube videos, and I would like to tell you about them.


The first is a video I made of a recording of my 2017 composition Five Preludes for Piano. Five Preludes for Piano consists of five atmospheric (and very difficult-to-play) piano pieces.This recording, from my March 2018 graduate composition recital, features the work's premiere performance by its dedicatee, my friend and colleague Mr. Elias Manos.


Dark music for a dark time, this second video features excerpts from my 2019 electronic music suite, Hall of Mirrors.

I wrote about Hall of Mirrors in a previous post. At the most basic level, Hall of Mirrors is a musical depiction of the concept of perception - perception of both the exterior and interior worlds, as well as the content and reliability of that perception.

The outer movements alternate with "mantras"; interludes scored mostly for (sampled) unpitched percussion instruments.

The excerpts from Hall of Mirrors featured in this video include:

  1. Cosmology (0:00)
  2. Mantra I (2:54)
  3. The "Other" (5:57)
  4. Mantra II (8:16)
  5. Archons (10:57)
  6. Conclusions (excerpt) (13:05)

These videos feature music that is less accessible than some of the other pieces I've written about/posted in previous posts. Nonetheless, these compositions are two of the most important in my oeuvre so I hope you will give them a listen or two (or more).

Sort:  

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation post with a share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community (Subscribe at peakd and Steempeak) as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music, Peakd, Steempeak and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73