Insomnia (Organ Improvisation)

adityachinchureqmGTByzJ4kunsplash.jpg

This is an organ improvisation I recorded this afternoon (Tuesday March 3rd, 2020).

I went to the church to practice the organ this afternoon but I couldn't concentrate. I wanted to continue to play for a bit before leaving, though, so I turned on my iPhone's recorder app and this improvisation was the result.

This improvisation was not "prepared" - a fact that will be obvious if you listen to the entire recording. In this recording you'll note my stopping several times - either because I changed my mind about a certain phrase or because I decided to change the organ's registration in mid-phrase, etc. The improvisation ends abruptly. This is not an edit - that was just the point at which I decided to conclude the recording.

It may be of interest to some that this improvisation includes two brief quotes (albeit with different registration) from two organ compositions on which I am currently working for my friend and colleague @contrabourdon.

I hope you'll check out this video. If you enjoy it I hope you will consider subscribing to my new YouTube page.

Also, I wanted to let you all know that I opened a Creary account (https://creary.net/@michaelcalabris) if you're interested in following my music there.

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD/STEEM share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community (Steemit and Steempeak) on Steem as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music, Steemit, Steempeak and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71