So Wes, you wanna know where I live…

in #creativecoin5 years ago
@derangedvisions posted a fun and interesting competition: make a post about where you live ... if you also want to participate, first read the rules here: https://steemit.com/creativecoin/@derangedvisions/tell-me-about-where-you-live-contest-100-sbi-in-prizes

Of course I am always happy to tell something more about my hometown, although I have to admit that this is not easy for a non-English speaking person like me.
But I try anyway ... you should ignore the errors or blame Google translate
😉

So, where do I start ... Right, where do I live? Well, I have lived my whole life in Antwerp, a city in the Kingdom of Belgium. Yes yes, we are one of those countries that still have a king ... but we don't have much trouble with him 😉


bel_ocha_1000px.png

As you can see on the map above, Belgium is a small country with +/- 11 million inhabitants surrounded by different neighboring countries that all once invaded Belgium. France, Germany, Spain ... they all once occupied Belgium and certainly Antwerp has always been an interesting city to conquer because of the port. (today the 2nd largest port in Europe)
If you want to know what a large port is, take a look at the next picture:


Luchtfoto_316726.jpg

Antwerp city is the red circle ... everything above is port ... and yes, I’m living somewhere in that red circle together with some 500.000 people from 166 different nationalities 😉

As a street photographer, Antwerp is the ideal place to go out. There is always something going on, the city is big enough to always find activity somewhere, and small enough not to be overwhelmed.
What I do most is take my camera and go out in the streets without a clear goal and see what I come across. That way, occasionally, you can come across interesting people, such as these 2 purebred Antwerp guys…


drink_a_lot.jpg

But street photography is not the only passion I have. I’m also passionate about architecture and, again, Antwerp is a great place for photographers.

Early in the morning when you don’t want to see the marketplace in front of the city hall too crowded…


city_hall.jpg

The Central Train station during the day where it’s always crowded…


centraal_station_trap.jpg

(Did I already told you that station has been selected in the top 5 of most beautiful stations in the world? Did I? Well, I suppose so. 😊)

And even the evening there are lots of things to photograph… especially when there is a gay-parade in the city 😊

lgbt_museum.jpg

I could go on, and on, and on… but hey, I have to keep some photographs for other posts too 😉
But I can’t resist to share my last passion with you all… Belgium, and of course Antwerp, is well known for the chocolate and beers… but we have more… a lot more. In fact, we love to eat and drink here…
So, if you come to Antwerp and you’re looking for me in the evening… look no futher. You will probably find me here…


backyard.jpg

… enjoying a drink while having a chat with the bartender… or here…


zuidcafe_dark.jpg

… enjoying some French Cuisine and… another drink of course 😊

You liked this post?

Right you are 😉
Just follow me here on steemit ( @pixelfan ) to make sure you don’t miss any new work. As you can see from my results on steemitboard, I do spend a lot of time here…

steemitboard2.png

BTW: I will not ask you to upvote my posts… deep down inside you know you have to 😉

Curious to see my other work?

Although I spend most of my time on steemit, you can also find me in other places… just take your pick…

steemit_500px.pngsteemit_ello.pngsteemit_facebook.pngsteemit_insta.pngsteemit_pixelfan.pngsteemit_steemiandir.png

Sort:  

I've herd of Antwerp.
And Belgium.

Is it near Europe?
I hear there are good places there... this Europe thing.

yep... it's near Europe...
When leaving Hong Kong turn right... 😉😂

right.

OK, I see what I did wrong there...

🤦‍♂️🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yep, there's lots of cool places in Europe. Where are you from?

Wow, your post is ... long! LOL. And interesting. I didn't know about the train station, not I have one more reason to visit Belgium, after chololate and beer (not sure about the order). So, what is that cozy bar? I mean, of course its look is already familiar to those who have a keen eye and good memory, but ... where is it? In case I decided to have a drink after sunset :)

pfff... yeah, much too long. Still tired of all that text 😂
In case of an after sunset drink in Antwerp... call me, I'll show you 😉

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the latest update to learn more about me.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Love this post! I delight in learning about other places on earth, other cities, countries, and cultures! Your photos are always amazing, and the accompanying text was fun to read! Thanks for this peek into your world! 😊

Thanks! It's a small world, but a nice one 😃

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Incredible photos! That seems to be a very lively city! Hope you show us that market full of people, someday!

I'll try... but most of the time, when I see a crowd... I run 😉😂

The size of that port is incredible, I had no idea it could be that large compared to the size of a city! Love your photos, especially the train station - interior and exterior. Very beautiful. Good luck in the contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59