CAN'T TAKE IT

in #creativecoin5 years ago

For all the times in my life that I’ve had my own share of fifteen minutes under the spotlight.
I’ve never let the fame get to my head, and no less my heart
You see, the truth is people will always cheer you on when they think you’re right
But I’m only human and someday, I won’t act right

What happens when they realise that I’m not super goddess?
That I too make mistakes, silly ones, oh yes?
Would they forgive, understand, pray for me?
Or would they form an army, match me to pilate’s hall, throw me down on my knees
Cry out loud, “crucifer her?”
Would these seemingly loyal lovers, fans
On that day, would they stand?
Or would they like Peter, deny me, claim “I never knew her”?

And if I tied my worth, my value to people’s approval of me
If in some way, I think of myself of only that something y’all see
What happens the day you no longer stand me?
Would I then lose who I am, my sense of purpose, just like y’all lost your feels?
Bitches be like “I wanna be her”
But the moment she acts wrong, y’all go “she was never all that”.

Nah. I’d never let fame get to my head, talk more my heart
No matter how long my fifteen minutes lasts
Imah just keep my head low, be humble still, never think myself below, nor above what I truly am
For I have come to realise that the secret of inner peace, is staying true to who you are

hair-2537564__480.jpg
Pixabay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67