The Harbinger of Death.

in #creativewriting6 years ago (edited)

IMG_7183edited.jpg
Washington D C. United States


coppergreen.jpg


Every man has a duty when he gets older,
to become a true American soldier.

So...

Like dad,
at eighteen years old,
I went to war.

I went to the jungles of Vietnam
and died for the country that I love.

I knew it was coming.
We could smell the death when we landed;
every night we prayed to God to make it home alive.

I, unfortunately,
did not.

Shot dead in the jungle;
didn't see it coming.

When I died,
the angel that was sent for me,
asked me,
if I felt regret that I had died as a soldier.

And the truth is, I do.
I killed innocent people.
But I am a soldier, not a killer.

I will always fight for what is right;
as righteousness is all that's worth fighting for.

And the truth is also that I don't regret it.
For I am a true American Soldier.
I loved my homeland and had a duty to defend it;
so I enlisted to go to war.

I did not know...
I did not know what hell really was.
I was only a kid.

I did not know how kings played their game.
I did not know my true enemy.

I did not know myself.

What I knew was I wanted to fight for what is right.
That's how I would spend my short life;
and you would aspire to be a true American Soldier.


-K.Rngo




copperbrown.jpg


For every human that has died as a result of an international conflict.

Sort:  

Handsomely!

Congratulations @k-rngo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61138.54
ETH 2920.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54