Introducing My New Toy

in #creativity6 years ago (edited)

I bought a knitting machine. It is a Toyota KS950. I bought it last summer. It is older and used, so as the months have past I have tracked down the parts that were missing, and now it is a complete set; ready to start creating projects with. 

Isn’t it a thing of beauty?  

 Knitting machines for home use are, as far as I know, out of production. They came into current popularity during the 1950’s and then faded off into the 2000’s.  But it would appear that the interest in knitting with a flat bed knitting machine is coming back. I think the Internet is having a big impact on this craft because now we can talk to other home machine knitters from all over the world and help each other with getting the most out of our machines, and with tracking down good quality accessories. Currently, I am on two Facebook groups that are knitting machine focused. There is a lot of excitement in these groups about the projects that we are producing and the challenges that we encounter with our machines 

As I have said before; I love to knit. It is, for sure, my pastime passion. It relaxes me. It helps me get back to my own thoughts. I find a rhythm and stability about the craft, that I don’t find with any other. And it is also a fun way to create something beautiful and useful for myself or for someone else. The beauty of this craft, for me, is that as I knit a project for someone else, I am thinking about them and sending loving thoughts to them. It is a win-win in so many ways. And brings me joy to see my gift being used and enjoyed once I have given it away.

When I heard about home knitting machines, I got very excited. I saw it as a way to make more projects and bless more people. I can try out design ideas I have and get quicker, more immediate results. I can make projects on consignment for sale to people who might like a custom-made article of clothing that will last them for many years. I can make home décor projects. I can create beautiful works of art in a fraction of the time it might take if I were doing it by hand on two or five needles. And I also see it as way I can further Ungrip – see @wwf –so I can do more and more things for myself and cut ties to large clothing manufacturers that have lost touch with real people.  

The final piece to my knitting machine adventure has arrived. I just need to pick it up at the postal station. This last piece is a ribbing attachment. With it I can knit a sweater from start to finish all on the machine. I look forward to sharing this journey as I learn and explore this new interest. 

Sort:  

I used to knit all the time when I was living in Canada. I made toques, mittens, gloves, scarves, sweaters, vests, afghans and anything that I could knit for my husband and four sons, plus some for other family and friends. I had considered a knitting machine in the late '70's but the family finances wouldn't allow it at the time. Now I am living in a tropical country and haven't touched a pair of knitting needles in 20 years. I used to find it relaxing. Perhaps I need to pick it up again..

The craft has seen a big surge in new interest. Young people and men are taking it up more and more. I have a niece who started knitting when she was 15. She now knits all of her Christmas gifts for family and friends. I am sure you would find lots of patterns that would work up beautifully for a warmer climate. There are so many new yarns and textures. I bet your passion could be sparked again.

I can't wait to see what creations you come up with. Looks like pure fun to me. Enjoy

Thanks, Carey. We could get together and work on a project together, once I am set up.

It's a date. Now I can't wait. Wow can I rhyme today. Haha

Congratulations @angelfire808! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I can't wait to see what you'll do with your "new" knitting machine. My old knitting machine died during a move.. You're right, there is a certain zen feeling as your sliding along. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you! It is a whole experience for sure. Moving is certainly hard on things. I hope to share what I am working on as I go along. I hope to see you here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64