You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dark Side of a Creative Artist

in #creativity6 years ago

The Prophet was on my mom's bookshelf as a kid along with other philosophers. My parents are boomers, and very aware of cold war and communism. I think works like The Prophet in the 70s really appealed to the cold war generation. I remember it being nested along side Ayn Rand, Edith Hamilton's Mythology, Parmedes(sp?), Homer, and books on Dead Sea Scrolls. I read it in pieces as a kid on lazy afternoons within the quiet of sunlight shafts on bland tan carpet.

Sort:  

Thanks, for sharing that. Yeah, my folks were fond of him, too... Then, again, my dad is Lebanese, so Gibran is really inescapable. He's also a formative influence on my work as a writer: a mix of Nietzsche, Blake and the Bible. I like the image of you reading him as a kid-- it's not unlike my experience :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63153.76
ETH 3045.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97