You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Here’s An Underrated Trick For Eliminating Writer’s Block: Experience More Art

in #creativity6 years ago

I certainly think that this helps. If I look back at the point in my life when I was most creative, my teenage years, this is exactly what I was doing. The daily grind hadn't caught me. I pursued music, books, and movies that I enjoyed constantly. After finding something new that I liked it felt like my mind was on fire. New ideas would come to me faster than I could write them down.

This is definitely something I should be doing now. Thanks for reminding me.

Keep Steeming!

Sort:  

PS
I fucken' love that Disasterpeace song.

Nice! I heard it on the recommendation of @fourfourfun if my memory serves me right.

re: "the daily grind hadn't caught me" -- I really do feel like this practice of listening to tons of new music, stuff I'm not familiar with, makes me feel younger. I mean I'm only 26 so I still feel pretty young by default but even so, it puts me in more of a childlike/adventurous mindset and its fun on that end.

also also -- I finished Diaspora -- mind blowing, dude! clutch recommendation.

Yep it’s me! I keep wondering whether I should get Fez for my iPhone. I own it pretty much everything already! Just love that soundtrack and feeeeeel.

@fourfourfun has excellent taste. I'm a huge synth/electronic/chiptune head.


I think that is the biggest sign that this system is deeply flawed. So many people have forgotten how to play. What it was like to just enjoy yourself when you were a kid. To pursue something not for profit, but just for fun. I've been rediscovering this for a couple years now and I can tell you it makes a difference in how I feel.


Yeah, Diaspora just really makes you think about all the possibilities that await human kind. It seems to start off with all limits completely gone and then it shows you what that could really mean.

When I hear FUD about AI and cybernetics and our robot overlords of the future, I hold on to that book.

" It seems to start off with all limits completely gone and then it shows you what that could really mean." -- ya you feel like you're starting at 100% and then you end up at 10,000% lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67646.55
ETH 3796.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52