I'm Going To Learn GIMP

in #creativity6 years ago

For years I've used Adobe Photoshop to do some basic image editing. I even went so far as to buy a Wacom tablet one time, but never got around to really teach myself to use the pen instead of the mouse; I eventually gave the tablet away to a good friend though.


angelic_small1.jpg


You see, Photoshop is a great program. It's really the best image editing software in existence and if you master the use of layers, filters, masks and color schemes, there really is no limit to what visuals you're able to create; if you can picture it in your mind, you can create it in Photoshop. Even if you can't draw or paint, you can create wonderful images in Photoshop by combining existing images into a whole new creation. Now I never rose above the rank of amateur, but Photoshop was good for making anything at all. Web graphics, photo enhancement or complete digital paintings; I understood how all that worked. Here's something I did in like a half hour on a Sunday afternoon with nothing to do, must be 11 or 12 years ago already...

Took a bad picture of myself walking on a beach on Ameland:


CIMG0167.JPG


Downloaded a royalty-free picture of a nice blue sky from somewhere... I don't remember where: must have been Pixabay or Deviant Art or something like that:


astrolabe_sky.jpg


Dowloaded a picture of birds flying:


flying_birds.jpg


And combined all three into this post's cover image, indulging some fantasy I've always had about flying away someday.


angelic_small1.jpg


Not very pretty or imaginative, but it's just to show how versatile this software is; bear in mind that I'm an amateur with no artistic talent whatsoever. Still I'd like to create some simple graphics of my own, so I can bring some more visual appeal to these daily posts, simply because you deserve that and because I always liked doodling in Photoshop anyway. But... I don't have Photoshop anymore. They went the way of subscription where you have to pay a monthly fee, which I refuse to do. Also I don't want to use an illegal copy of Photoshop 6, the last none online version.

That's why I will now try to hop over to GIMP; it's free and open source and capable of reproducing Photoshop's basic functionalities like layers, masks and basic filters. I already made some very simple graphics for my posts on Steem's hard fork, and I realized it's going to take some getting used to GIMP after having had the luxury of using Photoshop in the past.

Luckily there's tons of resources online to help me out here. I already found a video tutorial I'm going to follow and after I've done that I'm going to try to recreate the image I made more than a decade ago; if I can manage that, then I'll be very glad. It would be awesome if GIMP turns out to be a viable substitute for Photoshop! I'd also love to hear from any of my readers if they have experience with GIMP and if they think it comes close to Photoshop's brilliance. Or if you know of any tutorials or instruction videos I should read or watch. I'll let you all know what I think about it in a couple of weeks I guess; It's something I'll have to fit in an already full schedule so it's gonna take some time.


GIMP 2.10 Basics: Complete Overview Tutorial for Beginners 2018


Thanks so much for visiting my blog and reading my posts dear reader, I appreciate that a lot :-) If you like my content, please consider leaving a comment, upvote or resteem. I'll be back here tomorrow and sincerely hope you'll join me. Until then, keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>PC: The Atomism Of Speech
Between Past And FutureThe Amazing Sabertooth Sausage
The Presence Of Brian BlessedWorm Brain Wisdom: Introducing C. Elegans
Plutocrat Talking SenseBicycle Postcard From My Hometown

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

Yes fantasy.. I see much imagination in this picture! ;) Maybe you could match the hue of all three layers, but its just my suggestion... :)
Also... time for me to touch this GIMP too...
the thing is I rarely get my hand on linux...
because most of software I use is available for windows only...

All the best to you!

I'm glad you like it @trayan! Thanks so much for your response :-)

Wow! That's some transformation :) so the first one was done with Photoshop. I've only used gimp but I only used it for really simple diagrams and such. Curious to see what you will be able to do with it. And hmm... This chain could use a few photoshop battles.

I would so join an Photoshop battle :D

I should be able to do almost everything I could in Photoshop... Time will tell :-) Thanks for the response @eonwarped!

Gimp is cool because it's free, but if you don't mind spending a little bit to get a decent program, Affinity Photo is very comparable to Photoshop that doesn't even come close to breaking the bank (about $60 USD). There is also Affinity Designer (like Adobe Illustrator) for the same price, and a free beta of Affinity Publisher (like InDesign). Plus Photo and Designer are other available for the iPad and they are just as powerful as the desktop versions - something Adobe doesn't have.

Thanks so much for the advice @stephen.king989; I'll check it out for sure (60 USD is doable ;-) ).

Hi @zyx066!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.359 which ranks you at #7076 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 25 places in the last three days (old rank 7051).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 291 contributions, your post is ranked at #79.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @zyx066! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01