Pitter Patter

in #creepy5 years ago (edited)

Pitter Patter

As you lay alone in your bed, no one nearby, you seem to hear an odd sound.

Pitter Patter.

You get up to investigate, but the noises stop. You lay back down and they begin again.

Pitter Patter.

It sounds like the footsteps of a dog, like the nails of a cat. But you don't have either.

Pitter Patter.

You hear it getting closer and fear strikes your heart, embedding itself into the very marrow of your bones.

Pitter Patter.

What could it be? It's getting louder and louder - closer and closer.

Pitter Patter

You shiver under your blanket and recoil into a ball. You try to work up the nerve to get up, but can't.

Pitter Patter

Suddenly, you feel a breath on your shoulder. Cold and dead - like whatever it is that spoke next :

"Pitter Patter"

Sort:  

This might be my favorite so far! I love it!!

Until the very end, it made me think of the squirrels that skitter across my roof every day.

I don't have squirrels, but that sounds like it would be creepy to wake up to in the middle of the night!=)

Fortunately, squirrels tend to sleep at night. But they wake up super early!

Then it must be more annoying than scary! =)

Really cute <3 I like that it spoke.

Thank you. When I write, most of the time I don't have an ending in mind, so I thought that it would be creepy to make the thing speak.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Dear this is also a great blog. Do you have a phone? If you do maybe the use off Steemify its a Free app is usefull

Thank you! I don't have a phone but do have a mobile device - it may work on that! (And thanks for the suggestion - some days I want to write but don't want to sit at my computer!) =)

Metoo i say to my kids, no computer and than i am so on my phone its quick and easy. I do appics and actifit it works the same as instagram quick and easy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75