Mafia Post Series: Albanian Mafia Story

in #crime6 years ago


Albanian mafia is highly active in …. well let’s say everywhere. You name it. They probably are there too. In Albania alone, there are over 15 mafia families that control organized crime. According to the RIEAS, they have really strong connections with the political world.  

The “Albanian Mafia” in the States is well known thanks to groups such as the Rudaj Organization or Albanian Boys, both based in NYC. However, their presence in Europe is much stronger something completely normal as you can imagine because Albania is a European country. 

The usual structure of the organization is hierarchical. Each unit has one boss and all bosses need to serve the family which is controlled by the executive committee known as a "Bajrak". 

As you can imagine trust means a lot to the Albanian mafia that’s why they use the term besa, meaning "trust", as a name for their "code of honor".

The main activities of the group are drug trafficking, weapons and immigrants, human trafficking, prostitution, blackmail, car robberies and money laundering.

In order for a person to be member of the organization strong inner discipline would be considered necessary. The members between the group are very close because most of the times family relatives are involved.

In case you have seen Taken movie sequel you would know better how the Albanian mob works. There is a good representation how the Albanian mob works in that 3 movies.  

Source 1 2 3 4

Sort:  

The Albanian word Besa has nothing to do with mafia, I believe it is really inappopriate to mention it and relate it with mafia or criminal acts.
In fact it is the exact opposite, it is like a moral code, a life lived with honor and always keeping your word. So you can not say that mafia uses or has Besa!
An example of this code of honor is the way the Albanians treated Jews in WWII, 2.000 Jews found refuge in Albania with the help of the local population and survived the holocaust because Besa also has to do with hospitality.

I never said the word is only associated with the Mafia.I simply said the Mafia uses it as a code word!

I think it's not good to include it in a post with this context, you say:

use the term besa, meaning "trust", as a name for their "code of honor"

For someone that doesn't know it's meaning it's really misleading, implying that it is a code for criminals that have honor (?!). I am sure that obviously you read it in a source but that it is a really wrong use of the word. If you mean that the members of a group trust each other is one thing, if that is the case you just use the word trust. But using in this way the word Besa a code of honor according to which a certain nation lives is wrong, someone can not use it to describe criminal activity or even suggest that it is used as a code word from criminal.
This is something that you don't owe to know and you couldn't have known of course but the source there is totally wrong.

This post was not about misleading or insulting anyone.I have been making mafia posts for quite a time. I never have said anything provocative about the Albanian people or any nation's citizens, I am really sorry if you got that kind of impression. I really don't see the purpose of this.I don't see what this has to do with the nation and the historical facts you mentioned.Nevertheless,thank you for your comment.I will take what you said into consideration.

I didn't suggest for you anything from the things that you mention. I didn't said you provoked or insulted anyone and I not criticizing your post, I am just making a comment. I know you are making posts for mafia but this is irrelevant with what I am trying to say. That has nothing to do with the post or with you as a person, I was just trying to explain a meaning of a particular word that was not used in my opinion in a right way. As for the historical facts or whatever facts I used, they were just to explain the word's meaning and why in my opinion the word is used in a wrong way as it is not related with the post but maybe I am wrong.

Besa!! We use this word a lot!! I didn't know thaw is a word for " code honor" i was believed that it was Turkish.

well it looks it's Albanian.I didn't know it either :P

είσαι μια μαφια εσυ.... ? :pppp

χαχαχα μας καταλαβες εσυ :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56