The Crossfit Games Open 2018 - Week 1

in #crossfit6 years ago

image

The first week of the Open 2018 kicked off with a live announcement last night. The first workout this year is:
AMRAP20
8 toes to bar
10 dumbbell clean and jerk (50/35 lbs)
14/12 calories row

image

The Open is, as the name implies, a competition that is open for anyone. The best individual male and female athletes and teams in each region will qualify to compete in the Refionals. The top finishers in the regionals get to go to the Crossfit Games in Madison Wisconsin later this year.

The team at my gym went all the way to the games last year, so it will be really exciting to see if they can repeat that for the second year. Personally I’m nowhere near that level, but I hope to get a decent place in the national rankings for my age bracket.

image

Sort:  

Nice Sweat Angel! So, how'd you do? I'm doing mine Monday, nothing like waiting until the deadline :)

I ended up at around 9.5 rounds. I am a bit disappointed, people I normally go neck and neck with ended up at around 10.5-11 so I really need to redo it on Monday. I was breathing hard on the rower in round 2, so at that point I pretty much realized I had opened too hard. Pacing really is key here.

Just watched the top guys in my box go head to head and land at around 14 full rounds, really impressive stuff, I do not know what these guys are made of lol.

WOW! I would not feel ashamed of 9.5 at all! Did your judge write down your split times for each round? If you do it again, just try to shave a few seconds off each round, make transitions smooth and just keep a steady pace. Our top athletes made it into the 12th, and I thought that was impressive! 14!!!! Whoa!

Yeah, I'm not at all ashamed of the score, but I know in my heart that I can do better so I have to try. I will be doing some kind of workout tomorrow anyway, it might as well be 18.1 once more. I did not write down the splits, but I am pretty sure I was too hot out the gates.

Well I'll be right there with ya in the pain cave 😉

Got to 10 rounds, 8 t2b and 9 clean and jerk on my second run. Now I have the worst case of t-rex arms. Going to be interesting at work tomorrow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71