That Likely Support

in #crowdfunding6 years ago

Hello,

My name is Kaiii and I am raising funds to cater to my first semester at the Coventry University in January 2019. I am taking a Masters in Forensic Psychology & Crime to better my skills and to also qualify me as a forensic psychologist. In Kenya, you cannot practice psychology unless you have a Masters or more. I have a BA in Clinical Psychology but my passion is Forensic Psychology which is not offered in any university in Kenya.

Forensic psychology is the intersection between Psychology and the justice system. It involves understanding fundamental legal principles, particularly with regard to expert witness testimony and the specific content area of concern as well as relevant jurisdiction considerations in order to be able to interact appropriately with judges, lawyers, and other legal professionals.

I currently work as a social worker in the Kibera slums mostly dealing with young girls who are mentally disabled or have been assaulted. I also volunteer with a CBO that helps reintegrate people who are released from prison because of a crime they committed due to mental disability.

Getting a Masters Degree in Forensic Psychology and Crime will allow me to serve better and will give me an opportunity to work in my country's justice system and help be the change I wish to see with regard to mental illnesses and crime. In Kenya, forensic psychology is not common and when people are charged for crimes especially murder, they are to be evaluated by a psychiatrist to see if they are fit to stand trial. Unfortunately, there are not enough of psychiatrists and the those charged get barely a few minutes of evaluation.

I want to make a difference not only in the profession in my country but to also be a sound voice for those suffering from mental illnesses and coming between those who fake mental disability to get away with crime. I intend on pursuing a PHD after the masters as Psychology is an intense and sensitive field that requires not only experience but also education. I have currently taken up another time job so I can be able to save enough funds to pay fees for the following semesters after the first.

Your support of my campaign will not go a long way in assisting me get my Masters, but will also be of use to my community as I commit to being a positive influence in my field. For more details, https://bit.ly/2M9XSXm
You could also donate to BTC: 1NohW1N5REUT7XzwLPAHiZQPAHraVK6mZh

Sort:  

Congratulations @kaiii! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73