You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Which clean, renewable energy should humans pursue most?

in #crowdini6 years ago

Interestingly, solar has really improved in the past decade. There are now solar tiles for the roof that look snazzy (and are much more effective) and there is a research team in the midwest US working on solar panels that are strong enough to be roads. I myself have installed a few panels to run my work computers and I must admit that they are great money savers!

Sort:  

It has! When I was in college my physics prof was super anti-solar (and in favor of other renewables) because of the low yields. He predicted it would never be cost efficient. I follow him on facebook and he has very happily walked back his position over the past few years as solar capacity has exploded.

I can understand how he felt. You still need very large panels for larger yields, although if you have more wiggle room in the budget there are better quality panels and batteries available now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61233.41
ETH 2934.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56