FORBES Has Just Blogged About Swarm City -- The Crypto-Based Uber Service. My TLDR Overview.

in #crypto-news6 years ago


I love when huge MSM outlets we usually love to hate as Liberty and Awake folks print decent stuff, on the emerging world we are working with to get rid of the banksters and EVERYTHING connected to greasing their wheels and the governments always propping them up, at OUR expense, in terms of tax money and civil rights surrendered.

I am fortunate to know one of the $SWT community leads Jenn. She is very nice.

When I was literally a brand new crypto baby, trying to jump in, she was one of the very first people who tried to help me, LOL.

I always remember that and her kindness to me. It was even before the Swarm City community went through their rebranding so that will tell you a few things.

Thanks Jenn.


$SWT Charting today on CoinMarketCap.com:

(Lifetime Chart just above)


Here's my overview of the article.


Hollow ICOs: Five Ways To Tell If A Crypto Token Has Merit

--

Many initial coin offerings (ICOs) were tickets to quick riches in 2017. Take a token called Status—it was issued in June, raised about $100 million and soared 1,200% within six months. It’s easy to get excited by crypto’s surging prices. But now that the market has corrected somewhat and it’s clear that tokens both rise and fall, it’s prudent to determine whether the virtual asset you’re buying has merit and utility in the real world.

-- 1. Who’s the team behind the coin?

Much like the venture capital world, the founding can make or break a crypto asset. When evaluating a coin’s developers, look beyond education to find out what projects they’ve built, says bitcoin investor and researcher Tuur Demeester. He likes to see that developers are “respected in the fields of cryptography, memory compression, peer-to-peer networks and large open-source projects.” The more knowledge and experience they have, the less likely they’ll be to repeat past mistakes that have plagued other crypto coins.

-- 2. Read the white paper and ask what problem the coin is trying to solve

Developers typically publish a white paper that explains the software and economics behind a coin, and investors should read it with a critical eye. Cryptocurrencies’ main reason for existence is decentralization—they’re controlled by many people instead of a single, central authority. In crypto theory, that’s good because central authorities are more susceptible to incompetence and corruption. The white paper should clearly explain why the digital asset benefits from decentralization, Chris Burniske and Jack Tartar write in “Cryptoassets.”


It is here next the $SWT paragraph is inserted in the article:

--

Swarm City, a crypto platform that aims to power services like a decentralized Uber, isn’t owned by a company that needs to turn a profit, so it might be able to operate more cheaply. That could attract more drivers to the platform and result in lower prices for consumers. “Are these factors enough to gain traction over [...] Uber over the long term?” write Burniske and Tartar. “The innovative investor should perform similar thought experiments with any cryptoasset under consideration.”


It goes on to list a few more of the 5 Merits of a True Crypto Project:

--3. When was the token launched?

-- 4. Could the crypto platform run on ether, instead of its own token?

-- 5. Look at the Github repository

-- Jeff Kauflin , FORBES STAFF


Thanks for reading, have a nice day.



If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/gold/@barrydutton/steemit-gold-silver-report-blockchain-inevitably-will-overcome-us-goldcorp-ceo-says-video-6-mins

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/1-dear-binance-pls-list-usdsbd-steem-backed-dollars-let-s-get-on-the-binance-suggested-coin-of-the-month-boards-as-a-mass-voting

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/cryptocurrency-on-hodl-what-are-you-hodl-g-or-sodl-g-today-22-or-origin-of-hodl-always-included-for-newer-crypto-folks

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/live-now-bitcoin-is-on-the-move-up-crypto-101-video-60-mins-tone-vays-former-wall-st-trader-show-w-trading-bitcoin-daily

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/the-steemu-asks-what-are-you-blogging-about-today-or-e-58-or-drop-your-links-and-ideas-here-like-mad-pictures-thoughts-ideas-etc

https://steemit.com/funny/@barrydutton/meme-ing-the-blockchain-series-or-breaking-bitcoin-or-library-of-crypto-memes-included


Stock Images in most cases unless noted: via Giphy.com , Funny or Die.com / Pixabay.
Sources usually on image or credited if I cannot find it on an image, but sometimes I forget, sorry if this bothers anyone.

If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

--

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

EOS (EOS) - 0xD37bEFf5bf07E3aa432de00cE0AaA8df603A4fB0

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL



Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.
This has really upset some people but I do not force my opinions on others, or need to communicate every detail of my life or issues, most people do not care anyways. I invested around 10 hours or more a day on Steemit most of my first 13 mths here, I just do not have that time in my life right now, and that includes for replies and voting/curation.
I have done my best, sorry if you do not understand like some are clearly having a problem with. It's a blogging platform, and I will do my best at everything, and to keep blogging.
Carry On.

Sort:  

Thank for sharing us for this updates.We can take out much valuable & important information from your every blog.I always visit your site & wait for your upcoming post.
Thanks
@resteem & foloow done.

wow awesome, very uesfully post D:)

Very cool! It is nice to see a big outlet giving exposure to a cypto that can potentially be used, hopefully sooner than later.
I'll keep an eye on this one and read more about it.
Thanks for the info!

Good to hear from you, I think this is the first we have chatted on here LOL

I don't have any of the tokens but I see their community very active.

Have a good day man.

Thanks for the tip about Swarm City. Maybe I can use my Versa if they ever extend to Toronto.


Hollow ICOs: Five Ways To Tell If A Crypto Token Has Merit

I have another method: wait until the post-ICO hype has faded and the coin has dropped a lot. Then, take a close look at the project. If the project is growing while the coin is falling, keep an even closer eye on it to see when the coin more-or-less bottoms. Then, but the coin.

It's a cold method, but it sure worked with STEEM.

Actually, that is pretty smart.

I have employed similar methods with a few things in my life.

... but you cannot do it with politicians.

They never really perform at all unless it is a performance..... to benefit them.

No, you can't do it with politicians but you can do it with cryptocurrencies. And with mining-exploration companies.

Saya share t blog @sarahamelia

Don't spam posts with nothing but a link, you will be flagged.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67427.51
ETH 3768.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63