STORE. YOUR. COINS. OFFLINE / Hacked Ethereum-Wallet.netsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #crypto-news7 years ago (edited)

Today I was thinking about my recently ordered Ether. I didn't get any notice that they were added to the account I usually use. I made the research and found this:

Regretfully, our server (root account) was compromised two days after switching web hosting providers. We are still investigating how the attack happened. The majority of the Ether was moved to: https://etherscan.io/address/0xef9e06ee6c6adde29237e55a20e6743c92575ebe by the attacker. An attacker has moved most of the Ethereum on the website, but thankfully we have managed to recover a portion of it from low balance accounts. We will be announcing a user reimbursement plan soon.
Ethereum-Wallet.net


Pixabay

Erm, what?! I really regret not to buy that Hardware Nano Ledger S or have an offline wallet. Why I was always buying more and more coins, but didn't care about my ether online wallet? There are some solutions to store your ether in an offline wallet.
Big, big mistake on my side. Now here I am and I can only hope, that all the coins are recovered in the next weeks, like the owner of the wallet-site is promising. Keep fingers crossed.

I give you the advice to store all your coins offline and back them up. And don't forget to have a copy of your backups in another house! A fire can destroy everything.

Sort:  

Is sites like polo or bittrex safe or should I move coins from there as well ?

The best would be a hardware ledger offline

Have you bought one. ?
I am thinking of a software based wallet

The first time I have more views, than upvotes. Thats pretty interesting. ★

For fairness I have to mention now that I got atleast the promised 40% back. Lets hope for the rest of the amount too.

This is the best way but have 2 backups.

Yes and one of them not in the same house.

Thanks for the information. There is so much to consider in our new world that I can't get enough. @anothervoice is now following @blackwidow7. Please just don't bite me.

I lost over 13 Ethereums, on ethereum-wallet.net, but did not get any 40%. I lost everything obviously...(

Did you send the exact adress and everything properly? And when did you send the request?
The 40% are arrived immiadiately - but for the rest we all still wait.

I had 11 ethereum tokens their, I've been trying to figure out what to do then I just came across this article. I had know idea what even happened. Is it too late to do anything based on what you guys are talking about or can you tell what I can do. All this time I was thinking that the site was a scam and that they took my tokens.

ethereum is best I use it no prob

@indepthstory

Thank you for the warning!

Be careful :)

I'm new to buying altcoins... what are some good suggestions for offline wallets, and how do you get them, cost, etc?

Dunno yet. There is no need for ethereumstorage in my case rolleyes :( Maybe another experienced user could reply to this?

Wow thank you for the warning. I gotta do the same. Good luck, I hope you're able to recover what you lost. I've had my websites hacked before and so I know the feeling. I gotta get an offline wallet and make backups asap

Be careful, yes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67320.55
ETH 3709.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78