Coinbase 10 BTC Prize

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

I use Coinbase for some of my transactions. Nothing unusual there, I bet a lot of Crypto users do exactly the same thing.

Yesterday, I received an email saying this:

If you cannot view this email follow this link.

Link address redacted but part of is is here: http:// www.gcast.com.au/

Congratulations.
You have won the 10BTC Grand Prize in our Crypto year contest ! In order to receive this first prize you need to pay a 0.5% fee . Link redacted

Click Here to Unsubscribe
If you do not wish to receive emails in the future please unsubscribe by clicking the unsubscribe link provided.
The Privacy Policy Statements set out our policies on the management of personal information.

It all looks legit. The logos and the addresses seem real (scammers are getting good!)

I wonder how many will fall for this one?

On the other side of that bitcoin, I wonder if it's true, how many (like me) will view it with deep suspicion and not bother claiming it?


Further thinking:

Has Coinbase sold my email address and the purchaser has deliberately targeted people signed up with Coinbase or have the scammy scammers just sent out these emails in the hope that someone has an account with coinbase and tries to claim the prize?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58