Crypto adventures for a blockchain n00b

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

I was looking for somewhere to log my adventures in crypto investment so I can look back at lessons learnt and, through the process of documenting my experiences hopefully arrive at some valuable insights.

There may be some tidbits of information that will benefit other trail blazers entering the crypto space so please let me know if you find anything of use, asssuming I write a few more articles here!

Background about me

I'm a programmer/hacker who has been bending computers to my will since the Apple IIe was still a thing. I've evolved into a technical manager working with a team of developers but I still like to dive in and understand the work from the ground up if and where possible.

Like many other technical types I've known of Bitcoin for years and had couple of almos t forays into being a bitcoin owner back when it was less than $100 each. On each occasion the road to entry was too difficult, the exchanges to hard to understand or onboard to... it just seemed too hard. Aside: I was somewhat comforted in the knowledge that Steve Wozniak (of Apple fame if you don't know) was similarly challenged by the process. Luckily for Steve he got there in the end and did quite well for himself.

How did we get to here?

Commencing in December 2017 I realised that getting money in the game, so to speak, was a much easier process. Exchanges allow easier transition from fiat currency and wallets are more realised and easier to manage with GUIs! I'd been researching through October and November and decided that I was going to get onto that Ripple token XRP so my adventure began.

It is now February and it feels like 5 years have passed in the last two months. I'm well in front from my meagre investments and will summarise them in more detail in subsequent posts. Investing in crypto is an emotional ride and I've learnt as much about my impetous and emotions as I have about the underlying technologies.

I'm bullish about the cryptoverse (sorry Chris Coney that is a great word, check out his work as I'm becoming a fan) and keen to promote the technology and hopefully have some fun while doing so.

Sort:  

Congratulations, you were selected for a random upvote! Follow @resteemy and upvote this post to increase your chance of being upvoted again!
Read more about @resteemy here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69527.27
ETH 3683.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.24