Prospectors: An intro into the Crypto Game that paid my rent.

in #crypto5 years ago

I have been gaming so much that many of my deadlines simply caught up to me. In a previous post I said that I could make a living playing games, and this is true, but I did not let go of my responsibilities. So I am earning well, but I am also busier than ever.

I am still a programmer at heart. Even if gaming is quickly becoming my greatest focus.

My Highest Priority being Prospectors. Prospectors has earned me enough money this month to pay my rent. And My net worth combined with my girlfriend's in game can pay my rent for a year. My rent is quite affordable, but saying I can do this from a game still feels unreal.

So what exactly is Prospectors?

Prospectors is a strategy game that revolves around building your own business Empire.

When you start out you have three Workers (Prospectors).
prospectors.png
Each of them can do one task at a time (Travel, Mine, Manufacture, Build) and all this takes time.

Most things you do earns you Gold. Players will pay you Gold to work for them. As three workers are often not enough to get to everything, So bigger players will offer some Gold to pay other players to work for them to produce goods which could in turn be sold for Gold in the market.

Alternatively you could also earn money by selling resources or materials that you made yourself.

Prospectors has a live real world economy with an in-game market.
market.png

The Main Drive behind this economy is Gold. All gold in the game is linked to a Crypto coin called Prospectors Gold (PGL) . Theres a fixed conversion where 1 PGL = 1000 in game gold, so if you make 1000 Gold you have 1 PGL which could be traded for EOS and cashed out. So all Gold in the Game has value.

Some people ask, what drives the economy, why would people pay real money for digital goods?

The key here is the mines in the game. One of the mine-able Prospectors resources is Gold (Or PGL). So even if there's nothing else, Gold has value by itself and this is what breathes life into the game economy.

To mine Gold a worker needs a Pick Axe and a Gold Pan.

This is my Gold Miner:

worker.png

A Pickaxe is made of steel bars, nails and wooden beams
A Gold Pan is made of steel plates and steel bars.

Now I do not want to get too technical, but an in game scenario looks as follows:

Someone needs to mine the resources
Someone needs to use the resources to make materials
Someone needs to use the materials to make tools and transport
Someone needs to transport goods
Someone needs to build buildings that manufactures goods.

So before Gold can be mined, a few other things needs to happen first. And this is why other Goods also have value. Because each resource is a piece that is needed to ultimately get Gold.

With that said the real earner in Prospectors is the Gold Mines. Which is why I always tell new players, if you have an option, Go for Gold. Anything 8M or higher.

Gold lots are hard to come by. So even without Gold, the game has a whole Eco System that you could try and be a part of.

Prospectors is simple to get into but complex to master. I am hoping that the game lasts for another year or two. If that happens then I know that I will be able to play Prospectors Full time.

I will do strategy and giveaways in all of the "Crypto" games I play (which allows Giveaways). I am still just getting some more content out so that you know what to expect from me.

In my next post regarding Prospectors I will Map out the in-game history and trends so that others can reference it.

If a new player enters the game world, the goal is for it to form a reference that new players can follow to make the best choices when it comes to renting and playing. No matter how much a player analyzes the current state of the game there is still a history to keep in mind.

As example, I bought around 100 000 KG Wood at around 6 Gold per KG. Today wood is worth 50 Gold per KG. So new players will need to manufacture with Wood that costs 50 Gold per KG. Where my Wood is worth 6 Gold Per KG.

When we face off in the market, I will likely be able to out price you. Now I am not saying this to be discouraging, because this game changes a lot. I would want to prepare new players, pass down some knowledge on the world and its players, and for those interested, help them do better.

Anyone already playing, My in-Game name is upclassgames, you could send me a DM in game any time if you feel your about to do something stupid and need some advice.

Interested in Joining Prospectors? Here is a link to the game (Referral).
https://crypticgamer.com/play/prospectors

Sort:  

Congratulations @crypticgamer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72