An Adventure in Cryptokitties.co down the rabbit hole (or in the kitty litter)

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

Let me begin with why Cryptokitties? I saw it was only out 1 week and figured, "Hey the earlier the better with these things most of the time."

I already had a Coinbase account set up from buying a previous ICO.

Link to join Coinbase below:

https://www.coinbase.com/join/59c13860b21f9400da9da0d1

crypto kitties link below:

https://www.cryptokitties.co

I purchased $200 in Ethereum and transferred to MetaMask (is on kitties website) and was off and running. So with no clue at all started bidding on kitties that were Brisk and listed under cheapest. That was what I read the best strategy was. Get some breeders and get them breeding.

I must have bid on 10 different kitties and ended up with 4. The transactions kept failing and I was apparently not checking the gas price on ethereum. Which I had no clue was even a thing. Ether noob. Transactions have been hanging up and clearing them is another thing. There is info on that in the link below.

http://cryptokittyworld.com

So I figured out I needed to increase the gas price, which costs more ether.

Gas price link:
https://ethgasstation.info

So transactions to buy kitties costs like $5-10 at midnight two days ago. (Today it was like $10-20). At time of posting gas has gone back down to 40 which is reasonable for now. This includes buying, selling, siring, and breeding. I paid these fees and bred my little kitties. Now I have about 10. I bought some with rare traits today. When prices dropped.

There is now an extension that indicates the rare traits and color codes them.

Link below:
https://github.com/HaJaeKyung/KittyExtension

It has general pricing, as well. If you use it be careful. The pricing does not work correctly. Imagine my excitement when one of my kitties was showing a worth of 1.21 ether? Well I put it up for sale immediately. I am sure it is still up for sale. If someone buys it great but I doubt it. So I basically just lost $12 for the transaction.

I do think when the transaction costs go down it will be worthwhile and still believe it is not too late to get in and make a little extra coin. You can search the data base by three categories.

cooldown:
type:
fancy:

Forget about buying a Gen 0 daddy Warbucks. Just get some brisk gen 10-20 and start breeding. Sell some to make money to breed and buy more and maybe you will run into the white whale one day.

Good luck in the rabbit hole. I hope to see you there. If you want to donate kitties or ethereum.

Please send to the below:

0x46213831Ff1b5a2e185B6dB6441eD7aDc0dC4306

Sort:  

Congratulations @cryptochicken1! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for this - It's nice to have my own experience reconfirmed... don't expect to sell! I think I'e been luckier with the transaction prices too, might be due to being in the UK...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71095.13
ETH 3686.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76