CoinGecko market cap and liquidity questions

in #crypto6 years ago

thumbnail

I love CoinGecko.com — but what does it mean in their listings when liquidity and market cap seem to be mismatched?

Don’t spend more on digital tokens and coins than you can afford to lose. Don’t blame the wealth or poverty that results on me! I haven’t invested much yet in crypto, and I’m not qualified to offer financial advice. I’m posting this to ask questions, not answer them.

gecko

My favorite reasons to browse the CoinGecko.com website are the sheer number of cryptocoins and tokens listed and the parameters regarding each coin that are tracked on the site. Sorting CoinGecko’s listings by 24-hour increase in $ USD price can be amusing.


When the market cap for a given cryptocurrency is drastically larger or smaller than the liquidity, how does this affect your view of where this currency is in its value development?

Here are some examples from high in this morning’s list of 24-hour price jumps. Their positions in the rankings have changed in the time since my screenshots were taken.


DOVU has much more market cap than liquidity.

header
dovu

DOVU is promoted here.


RMC has more market cap than liquidity.

header
rmc

RMC is promoted here.


Operacoin is shown with more liquidity than market cap.

header
operacoin

OCN is promoted here but I cannot get the page to open.


BCO has much more market cap than liquidity.

header
bridge

BCO is promoted here.


What do these mismatches mean?

my introduceyourself page

Feel welcome to drop by and say hello!

Sort:  

Look upon Liquidity as the amount that is actively being traded. The higher the amount the more active the market for this coin is. Part of the low Liquidity of BCO is that it is only traded/available on one market/exchange.

In some cases it seems that the amount actively being traded (liquidity) exceeds the total market capitalization. The example of this that I gave in this post (above) is OCN. I cannot understand this unless I stretch and struggle.

I am not using coingecko, more used to coinmarketcap. They do not use the term Liquidity. The only thing that comes to mind is, they count all trades.

Let's say we have $50 between us, when we pay eachother 4 times a day with the same $50, the Liquidity would probably be $200, while our marketcap is still $50.

One thing I would get from Liquidity higher than Marketcap is that the coin is very actively traded. Should be fun day-trading that coin :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71191.31
ETH 3811.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48