New to cryptos

in #crypto6 years ago

Ok, so my name is Dylan and I'm from a country called South Africa. I am an aircraft engineer by trade which has taken a long time and a lot of hard work to accomplish. I am also a new father to a beautiful baby boy which in comparison dwarfs the amount of work needed to be successful in the field of aviation yet multiplies the amount of gratification 1000 fold.

15393028_10202253011443996_5223996876101214712_o.jpg 16508631_10202536860700050_6480764970259312614_n.jpg
As I am sure that those who are parents can agree, bring a life into this world gives one a very clear sense of priority. In short as a parent you want to be able to provide your child with everything that is in your power to do so, a loving home environment, time,attention and a good education. Unfortunately with the exception of love all others cost either time or money. With this in mind, understandably I embarked on a journey into finding ways to bring in a supplementary income whilst working a 40 hour week, this has always been a goal of mine and a little over 4 years ago i decided to educate myself in the skill of Forex trading unfortunately back then I had the misconception that Forex trading was going to be a way for me to make a massive amount of money in a relatively short period of time, however nothing could have been further from the truth and while the concept of making money trading Forex is not far fetched, what I hadn't figured out yet is that it takes a huge amount of time, effort, energy, hard work and discipline just to understand at a competent level the inner workings of becoming a constant trader. I was in for a big surprise early on into my journey.
40 up.jpg
Fast forward a few years,I have finally gotten to a stage where I am profitable. Problem was that in order to get to a stage where trading can contribute a significant part to financial freedom, you would need a significantly sized account balance...

Back to the drawing board....

I had been teaching a friend on what I had learnt down the road to becoming a trader and to my surprise after seeing him again at a Braai (BBQ) he had told me that he was trading relatively well thanks to my advice.

LIGHT BULB MOMENT!! I would create a course and teach people who were interested what I have learnt. Empowering them whilst allowing me to reach my own predefined goals. So I set out to create an educational course which as it turns out wasn't as small of an undertaking as my ideas had lead me to believe. But after month and month of further hard work effort and energy I had finally created my own little online company with humble beginnings yet great expectations. All the while with my young Family's future in mind.
stock-vector-realistic-vector-mascara-circle-brush-stroke-isolated-on-white-background-black-hand-drawn-round-657928813.png
I had heard about the cryptoconcurrency trend taking the world by storm and naively dismissed it having had friends and family members fall victim to less scrupulous people out there praying on those who are not very tech savvy with the same financial ambitions that I think most people in this crazy world have. So It has now become my mission to understand these Cryptos as much as I can from individuals with the knowledge and good intentions at heart.

Are there any informational sources out there that are a good place to start for someone who wants to understand the technical side of how these cryptos work exactly?

What is the general consensuses about cryptos and is it something that is viable to get involved with?

perhaps some of you good people could share with me some of your personal findings regarding investment in these cryptos be it the better known ones like bitcoin or even if you have had success in some of the up and coming coins. I remain skeptical about some of the videos on youtube and advertisements on Facebook.

Finally thank you for taking the time to read my first Steemit post, I am excited to be a part of this community and look forward to contributing in a positive way. If perhaps there is anything I can help anyone with from a trading point of view, drop me a message I will be adding trading ideas from time to time if people would find that useful

Sort:  

Hey Dylan, Welcome to Steemit and congrats on the little one!

P.S. If you're looking to meet more Saffas, then check out @teamsouthafrica and #TeamSouthAfrica ... we've also got a pretty cool discord going - hope to see you there: https://discord.gg/JNT56jg

Greetings Dylan and welcome to the community.

Yeah, I wouldn't trust any of those Youtube vids and FB adds. One of the best places to learn about crypto would be right here on this platform.

As per @braaiboy's comment feel free to come and join us on Discord :) There are always people around that can help you with any queries you may have. Whether it be the Steemit platform itself or crypto's. There's plenty of knowledge available there :)

Hey Therneau Thanks so much! I am already finding the Discord helpful! looking forward to contributing! have a good one

Hello and welcome, awesome to meet another South African @fx4real.

Nice #introduceyourself (Tags here you can edit this post and add up to 5 tags you have only used 3) the other tag you are now part of is #teamsouthafrica have fun, looking forward to your insight and tutorials.

Welcome bru! Lets keep growing the South African Steemit community

Absolutely brav! this is an incredibly powerful tool in community creation! hope you have a good one

Chic article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

@fx4real, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Thank you so much I really appreciate it! I will do that right now

Welcome fellow South African 😊 Enjoy this exciting journey 👍

Thank you very much mrsbeetroot, I am really enjoying it so far!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65686.10
ETH 2943.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73