Sort:  

Could you give me a shootout? I think most people will learn technical analysis and elliot wave theory by looking at my posts.

Much appreciated.

Thanks for sharing those. I'm also not interested in becoming a trader at this point, but it never hurts to have the information. Also, some of those post titles are super, making me want to click on them even if it's not my topic of interest, so there's obviously something there to be learned about writing catchy titles too.

I really like the way you hunt through Steemit - particularly through people's history of posts - and then share your findings with your followers. I feel I get great value out of following you.

If anyone is looking to get some cryptocurrency, I would recommend Crowdholding. They are a platform where you can log in for free, give feedback and responses to tasks and get crypto for your responses. They better your responses, the more of a share you get. They already have DeepOnion, SmartCash and ITT on there. So you can cash out.

http://www.crowdholding.com

@inquiringtimes .. do you really believe in technical analysis ? How does one can possibly even imagine the future of a particular coin based on the charts?
I have observed haejin’s account very closely and it turned to be a massive failure on so many instances.
We need to understand that there is a huge difference in stocks and in cryptos. Stock trading is regulated, centralized and starts from 9 AM and finishes at 5 PM. Whereas cryptos are being traded 24/7/365 in all parts of the world. So when you go to bed looking at steem’s price @ 3$, it wont necessarily be there when you wake up.

With so many pump and dump schemes and crypto whales calling the shots that we have seen in the past, it is highly unlikely that the price prediction of a coin can be estimated through technical analysis.

I know you have mentioned this as a source of information. And i also know that you have already said that you are keen on learning about everything that you get your hands on.
But i am asking your for your honest opinion here.
Much regards

I know that there are some people who earn a lot of money by having learned the patterns that makets make. I do believe in patterns. A lot of it involves psychology, as well. The more people study and believe in these methods (there are a lot of people like that in crypto) the more the market will behave accordingly.

Spending some time observing charts, and observing analysis, I can see that there is some truth in it.

Elliot waves analysis that Haejin does is very controversial, and not very agreed upon by all of the people who use it. Also, I am of the opinion that he is more concerned about finding a pattern that looks like it could match so he can produce more content. You may have noticed I didn't reference any of his work in this document. This reminds me, I forgot to include a review of the book about elliot waves. I've never been interested in Haejin's work, but the review of this book is very compelling. I'll add it to my list.

https://steemit.com/@twoblokestrading/elliott-wave-principle-key-to-market-behaviour-book-review

Thank you for the detailed response. Yes, it is supposed to work out (in theory) and sometimes it does when everything is going well in the market. But it doesnt take into account dumping schemes. Recently @acidyo wrote an article pointing out that a huge bitcoin whale dumped 40,000 bitcoins (yes you read that right) on market and sold some 36,000 units when btc price hit 18k $. Due to the massive dump, the btc price dropped down to 8k in no time.
And as we all know that no matter how hard crypto world tries, almost every coin’s price is associated with bitcoin’s. When bitcoin hit 18k, a lot of altcoins were in a dive and were expected to rise soon. Almost every technical factor and analysis out there indicated that the price of such altcoins will rise but they never did. Instead they drowned further along with bitcoin. So thats my point, we now know that some dude dumped 40,000 units of bitcoins on market at some earlier point but while it was happening, nobody knew. Alot of people lost a lot of money.

And thank you for not putting up any of the references of haejin. Yes i already noticed that when i saw your post. I am sure he doesnt believe in his own analysis and the only way he made a lot of money through elliot waves pattern is by posting a tremendous amount of bull in his blog while his sheeps kept upvoting him.

But you are right, tech analysis and patterns can give you an idea about future of market. But people need to be educated about how to use them properly. If someone is dumping btc on market, then no matter how well someone’s ability to predict market is, they will fail.. so we need to be on our feet at all times to see if there is any abrupt behaviour in market due to pump and dump schemes, because TAs and patterns will never account these happenings..

Much regards..

of course there is a lot more to being a crypto trader than technical analysis. you have to be aware of the current news, and the buzz on twitter, and reddit... must read whitepapers...

ultimately I think it's a lot more reliable to find tokens that you believe in, with teams you can believe in, invest, and hold on for a couple years, to see what will come :)

trading is an easy way to lose money, hoping you will know the right time to sell, and the right time to buy. I've had the privilege of watching bitcoin the last 2 times that it was on the way up... the first time, right before it dropped I thought to sell my coin, and the transaction went through about halfway down the dip.

it's very difficult, there are a lot of emotions which interfere with good judgement. of course, if you sell and the price just keeps rising, you will be sad you missed out! probably trading is not for me, until I have enough money I won't mind losing some to the education.

Okay I need to jump in here being that your reference Haejin is a poor example of technical analysis.

In fact, I have noticed and preached how cryptos chart so much cleaner than stocks. Crypto is like trading internet stocks in 1999. Basic support and resistance lines and reversal patterns are working a high percentage of times.

Using basic charting principles I have made and more importantly saved a nice chunk of money by buying at support and selling at resistance.

Please know that I was a full time equity trader for many years and trying to actively trade stocks these days in nearly impossible - cryptos on the other had have been rather friendly.

A lot of good resources linked in this post, nice! Happy to see I made the cut :-)

On a darker note; btc failed to maintain its breakout and at this moment is below the 200 day MA. 8K is in sight.

wow, every time I think I missed my moment to sell, market just wants to prove me wrong

Thanks for providing this awesome list of resources to learn about crypto trading. As a beginner this might be a bit overwhelming. This is not something to be learned in a day. So take your time. This is time very well invested!

Yeah, I'm not a trader either, but it's always interesting to learn something new. Getting familiar with how the trading actually works can be useful, because you never know what you might decide to do tomorrow, next week or next month.

You bookmarked all those posts and articles, and I'm bookmarking this post to have your bookmarks, haha!

Thanks - it's really handy to have all these resources in one place. Resteeming...

Wow tremendous material, now I have to review each publication and study what they teach in each of these post.

Thank you.

ahah, that's a long journey you want to take :)

uy yes, but it is knowledge and that is rewarding ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66251.96
ETH 3068.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70