Scam email wants us to pay in BITCOIN?

in #crypto6 years ago

Seriously, y'all. Have you heard about this new "sextortion" scam? I got this email while I was out on vacation last week:

I am aware, XXXXXXXXXX, is your pass word. You may not know me and you're probably wondering why you are getting this e-mail, right?

I Xed out the password here, but, yeah, it was one I have actually used. I'm sure I used it for my MySpace account back in 1999.

Let me tell you, I setup a malware on the adult video clips (sex sites) web-site and you know what, you visited this website to experience fun (you know what I mean). While you were watching videos, your browser started out working as a RDP (Remote Desktop) having a keylogger which provided me with access to your screen and also web cam. after that, my software program gathered every one of your contacts from your Messenger, social networks, as well as email.

Fun! You know what I mean.

What did I do?
I created a double-screen video. First part shows the video you were watching (you've got a fine taste ; )), and next part shows the recording of your web camera.

Wow, this seems like a lot of work. Too much work, honestly.

exactly what should you do?
Well, in my opinion, $2900 is a reasonable price for our little secret.

$2900? Why not ... any other amount? Why not a round number? Is this how much this guy needs to pay off his car?

You'll make the payment via Bitcoin (if you don't know this, search "how to buy bitcoin" in Google).
BTC Address: 1BXao4DEJJ7u4g2KdE7tGxrPK6QouXCobR
(It is cAsE sensitive, so copy and paste it)

Okay, so ... the idea is that someone who not Internet savvy at all and is thus liable fall for this ridiculousness is now going to buy some bitcoin after Googling how to do it. That seems easy. What could possibly go wrong?

Important:
You have one day in order to make the payment. (I've a unique pixel in this e mail, and at this moment I know that you have read this email). If I don't get the BitCoins, I will, no doubt send out your video to all of your contacts including friends and family, colleagues, and so on. Having said that, if I do get paid, I will erase the video immidiately. If you really want proof, reply with "Yes!" and I definitely will send your video to your 7 contacts. It is a non-negotiable offer, and so please do not waste my time and yours by responding to this email message.

I have so many questions. What is a unique pixel? Which 7 contacts? How many BitCoins are in $2900? Do I have to include the exclamation point after the "Yes" if I want proof?

After that, there's a long break in the text and then this:

Screenshot 2018-07-16 at 11.26.12 AM.png

As you can imagine, I immediately sent this dude Gustie Schrauwen ([email protected]) some Bitcoin immediately. This seems totally legit.

Remember, friends, from a bad paymaster take straw!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71