Steam Games is Bad for Steemit and STEEM

in #crypto6 years ago (edited)

I'm new to crypto, but I wish I wasn't. A few years back when I was day trading fairly heavy, I heard about this thing called Bitcoin. I wasn't really interested too much until they started talking about in on CNBC. It had gone up from just a few dollars to a couple of hundred and then, in a sudden spike, almost got to a thousand dollars per coin. Then, I was interested.

But Bitcoin, in fact all of crypto got poo pooed by many investors, not the least of which was Warren Buffet, the Oracle of Omaha, who had nothing good to say about it. It wasn't long before the sudden rise was followed by a meteoric drop down to just a few hundred once more and seemed destined to stay there. I again lost interest.

Since then, I hadn't paid much attention to crypto until I heard about STEEM and Steemit just a few months back. After researching it, I thought that getting involved in crypto now, but specifically with the Steemit platform, was a unique opportunity. I've never seen anything like it. I honestly believe that it can help people through social media and not just be another place where people can anonymously say nasty things and post pictures. Steemit's partnership with STEEM can be a true catalyst for economic change, which always is tied to political change as a result.

But the world is cruel to new things. It isn't going to be easy to convince people to change their ways and try Steemit, especially if they are heavily vested in Twitter and FaceBook. Let's face it, the Steemit platform is not an easy thing to wrap your head around. Furthermore, it certainly doesn't help to see whales, who not only make all of the Trending pages so easily, but also make hundreds of dollars on each post when a newbie, a plankton like myself, makes only a penny or two for each post and usually wallows in obscurity. And that's if we're lucky.

Not that I'm complaining. I've built many businesses in my life from scratch and I understand what it is to start something new. But not everybody has my experience, background and (if I'm honest) stubbornness to succeed. I've learned how to vote on my own posts and use voting bots (which is just starting to feel less dirty and wrong to me), but without that, few people would see or read my posts. I also have a few dollars I can invest into SP, which a lot of people don't. Altogether, it makes it hard to attract the less-than-hardcore user to stick it out and make Steemit work for them.

So, when I see stuff like this Steam Game company, I get very worried (Click link below to load a RawStory report). This company, which I've never heard of, is allowing a game called Active Shooter, which simulates a school shooting adventure, to be sold on their site. Naturally, there is already an uproar stirring and people saying they will boycott the company, light torches, sharpen pitchforks, etc...you know, the standard stuff. And rightly so. But, knowing how people are, I suspect there will be some blow back on STEEM crypto as well as the Steemit platform.

Although there is no connection (or at least I HOPE there is none) between this gaming company and Steemit, to the vast majority of people who have never heard of the crypto, the social media site or the gaming company will assume they are related somehow, if not one and the same.

“Well,”, the informed Steemit member says, “they have nothing to do with each other! They aren't even spelled the same!” I agree. But again, to the uniformed, they won't make that distinction. Just as I might have a few months back before I did some not-so-easy research into STEEM, they will lump them all together and probably carry a bad taste for anything “STEAM/STEEM/Steemit” for quite some time.

It ain't right, it ain't fair. But then again, what is? We'll just have to endure and try the best we can to keep Steemit in the good light it rightfully belongs. I bring this to the attention of the Steemit community so we can be prepared and to ask those who might have a strong social following on other platforms, maybe you can reinforce the truth there: that Steam Games and this stoooooopid game have nothing to do with STEEM crypto or the Steemit.com platform.

If we are lucky enough (and smart enough), and if any blow back does occur, this could turn into some unexpected attention and an opportunity to show how exciting the Steemit opportunity really is. Fingers crossed!

(Image and Story Source: RawStory https://www.rawstory.com/2018/05/game-maker-faces-growing-backlash-upcoming-school-shooter-game-players-kill-kids-cops/ )

Sort:  

This post has received a 5.39 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @matthias-green.

You got a 2.06% upvote from @upme thanks to @matthias-green! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60906.91
ETH 2920.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69