Now is a great time to buy crypto! and a little bit of my hurricane story. :-)

in #crypto7 years ago

I'm sure this has been posted and I wont go into detail why it is a good time to buy crypto because I am sure many of you know what's going on with the China BTC companys shutting down and their banning of ICO's. Seems like almost ALL coins are down by a large amount. I would just like to post this photo of 3 coins, which I invest in, but not the only ones. images were taken from the graphs on Coinbase's website, showing 1 week how much these coins have dropped in value! However I have a strong feeling they will return to their previous price, or even higher so now is a good time to buy :-)

coindrop.png

I wish I saw this coming and sold some of my crypto when it was at peak price, then bought back what I had sold at a cheaper price ^_^. Of course I did not realize this until yesterday as I am just getting back home after evacuating south west Florida in light of Hurricane Irma. Along with a (hopefully) short story about my experience.

I am so very lucky that my house was not damaged. Besides the streets being littered with debris, my friends, family, and the neighborhood in my county are all OK. Our power was out for days and of course the internet, I had major problems with getting a cell phone signal also.

I feel blessed we are OK here but I know some people are still suffering and my heart goes out to them. I hope for a speedy recovery where the hurricane Irma did the most damage. I am just north of the city of Naples. I am no expert on the weather and I don't particularly like to watch it 24/7. When they have these storms the news media go into 24/7 storm mode and that's all you see on the news, all day. So I don't know all the details and exactly why It was not ripping off roofs around my area.

Our roof is rated for 200 MPH winds and this hurricane was clearly very strong before it hit land. It seems to me the hurricane smashed into Marco Island and then into Naples, after obliterating the keys and smaller islands below the state of Florida, but still remained over the water and gaining some power and speed before hitting Marco Island and Naples. The storm went north but once it hit Marco Island and then Naples, it lost a lot of its powerful winds and storm surge potential, which I believe is what saved many homes north of there. Even with seeing damage across the entire state as I drove though back home after evacuation all the way to South Carolina. There were many downed trees, completely felled over with their roots sticking out something I had never seen before. I WISH I Had my camera in the vehicle with me but I had left it packed in the trunk and did'nt think to get photos as I was just shocked to see such damage and chaos at certain places. Something I have never seen before. It's different when you just look at a photo

Another major problem, There was pretty much NO GAS anywhere. From South Carolina to South Florida we passed about 3 gas stations that had huge lines of cars waiting to fill up. It was chaos at one station with everyone trying to find a spot. I am surprised that there was no accidents of my knowledge. One thing that irked me was I saw quite a few people filling up to 5 (five) gas canisters which looked to be 3 to 5 gallons, along with their motor vehicles, while almost every other person was just filling up their vehicles tank and leaving. I remember hearing the Governor saying something like "just take what you need and leave some for the next person". Now I don't know If this man had a business to run and he really needed all that gas, so I cant really judge him, but to me it seemed very excessive and greedy. I mean I could have used 5 gas canisters too, but we did not do that. and I'm sure everyone could have used more gas stockpiled in their cars or truck bed to make it home without stopping. The other 2 Stations were controlled by police. Only allowing vehicles to enter from one direction and exit another. I also heard that there might have been a limit on the amount of gas you could pump restricted to $25 or so, but I did not encounter this. Other than that literally every convenience store or large gas station had their pumps wrapped in saran wrap, or plastic covers over the handle with people just sitting at the pumps, I assumed they had ran out of gas or were extremely low and were just stuck waiting for a tanker truck to arrive so they could fill up - how horrible that must have been to be trapped at a gas station.

My heart goes out to those still struggling with no power, water or internet, as mine just randomly came back online today and, needles to say, I was ecstatic. Its crazy how bad things can seem or get when you lose these simple things we use everyday without a care about them running out. such things as Gas, Food, Water, Shelter, etc.

Two more things I find unbelievable and really stupid before I end this post. Some of you may have heard, some maybe not. The first article I saw, Credit to Fox News, were 2 shirtless men stealing a knocked down utility pole and had it strapped to the top of their vehicle. I assume they wanted to get money for scrap metal, but this pole is gigantic. I would think it would be too heavy to lift on top of a car without some kind of assistance, which they obviously had, or just their desire to make a quick buck selling this to a metal scrap yard or something. Here we are trying to rebuild and restore power, and these fools are trying to steal the dang utility pole! What are these people thinking I will never know. If you would like to read more the article I found is here: http://www.foxnews.com/us/2017/09/14/2-florida-men-accused-stealing-utility-pole-in-hurricane-irmas-wake.html

Another story I find very sad to have heard is that three people died of carbon monoxide poisoning from a generator running inside their home. I believe this was in Orlando and involved 2 children and a mother. The article also stated that four other relatives were taken to the hospital with a very serious condition. If you would like to read more the article I found is here: http://nypost.com/2017/09/13/three-dead-from-running-generator-inside-home-after-irma/ I first heard this on my local news and was shocked. This day and age people still winning the darwin award I suppose. I could not believe it - do people really not know this, I honestly thought it was common sense. YOU DO NOT RUN A GENERATOR INSIDE YOUR HOUSE! Then again I've worked in construction for many years and places without power and we had to use generators all the time. I suppose some people still just don't know and don't read instructions.

I hope to get out and get some photos to post so you all can see some of the uprooted trees and the damage that was done here, as minor as I saw it, some of it was astonishing how the wind can just knock down a large tree, ripping the roots right out of the ground. Also I hope to write a little more detail about my evacuation to South Carolina. My cousin drove himself to Tennessee and we have not heard from him so we are a bit worried since the storm went there, but I think it was just minor rain and wind so he should be OK.

One last thing I heard, maybe someone can confirm it for me as I am not entirely sure this is true. I heard that for some time in Georgia they were not allowing anyone with an out of state plate to get gas in Georgia. So if you were passing through Georgia to avoid the storm and you did not have a Georgia License plate, you may have been denied gas. I think this is absolutely CRAZY! If anyone can confirm this, let me know in the comments. I am pretty sure we made it though Georgia without getting gas so I cannot speak on that matter, or is it possible we did get gas but they did not have this restriction set in place yet.

I Thank you For reading, if you were able to get to the end of this (as I feel like it could have been quite boring especially without photos), You are awesome! Peace, Love, and Happiness to all! -Mattlhew

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73