Should I Power Up or Buy SBD for Votes

in #crypto6 years ago

Today I bought some STEEM tokens. It was an impulse buy as STEEM price neared 2$. I plan to keep buying STEEM whenever it goes close to $2 and under. I transferred those tokens to my steemit account and was about to power up when the investor in me woke up and stopped me.

Everyone says keep powering up which sounds like the right thing to do, but is it really?
When in doubt, I fall back to numbers and I will do whatever numbers supports. So, lets run some numbers:

Assumption: For the sake of calculation lets say, I sell all my votes and keep 100% of profit.
Total STEEM token: 85
Total Vote value with these tokens: .02$
Total votes in 1 day: 10
Total vote value a day: .2$
Total vote value a yr: 73$
After curation: 54.75$
SBD: ~27.375
STEEM: 11.31
Total ROI: 35% in a yr

If I instead buy SBD with the STEEM tokens and then use them for up-voting my posts it will yield me minimum 10% ROI/week from up-vote bots and fixed vote bots. On top of this, I keep my liquidity whereas if I lock this money in SP, I will have to power down and wait for money to come back to me.

Seeing these numbers it seems pretty easy choice. What do you guys think, am I missing something?

Sort:  

Tough call on that one. I stopped selling my Steem to get SBD.

I sell mine as i need them for upvoting

The way numbers are turning up for me, it seems i should jeep powering down till i am active.

My Steem Power number is the main number I care about. Steem Power is not that easy to get especially if the price goes up of Steem.

Interesting thoughts, as I am new to this still, I am most interested in this analysis and other's thoughts on it. It definitely seems as if your second solution makes more sense financially.

If you read through my other article, you will find lot of such things. I write as i figure out. Steem is a complex economy and that's why I'd fun to figure out

In an ideal situation you can invest your sbd in upvote bots for the posts you create, BUT being profitable with upvote bots is very spuradic. Eventhough you select tge correct upvote bot by using steembottracker and get a high percentage of the reward 15%-20% you can still lose on the post if the steem price goes down.

Check out this post I have done some research on the topic.
https://steemit.com/steem/@clearbluecrypto/using-upvote-bots-for-profit

There are 2 points I want to mention to respond to your comment.

  1. I am looking at my gains compared to how many Steem and SBD i generated and not against fiat. If $ amount goes down, you still make same number of steem.
  2. Everything that goes up, comes down and vice versa in terms of prices. So if you buy a vote when price was down and then it goes up, your post value will also go up.

On top of this, I make min. of 25% profit on each post. You can see my previous posts for how I do that.

How can you make the same amount of sbd you payout to upvote posts when you have to payout curation rewards?

Im not trying to dash your hopes but I would look a little closer at the calculations. I calculated what the price was when I bought my sbd, then how much sbd I spend on a post.
Then after I receive my final payout for the post, in sbd and steem I would total that to see how much sbd I received back from what I spent. Sometimes I made gains and sometime I took a loss.
Maybe you have a strategy that your using that I dont know about, if so good luck to you and keep it going.
As for me there are too many variables in place that control our profitability so I dont see using upvote bots as a consistent profit generator.

Math is the only thing I am sure about :)
https://busy.org/@mightypanda/how-to-make-money-on-steemit-for-noobs-part-2

Check out this article where i explain how to game the system. You can also see my wallet and steem.supply of how much I am due though that calculation is not accurate because that is based of off 25% curation.

This is payout of my last post. I paid 9.28% curation. My account is growing at 200%/month and I am ramping up.
image.png

wow, very detailed calculations

You got a 16.39% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @mightypanda!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

💡 @mightypanda received an upvote 92% :)

 To call a bot, subscribe to me! 

You got a 20.12% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @mightypanda! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You got a 47.68% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @mightypanda! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

💡 Congratulations, your post was rated Rating of the posts who called djimirji. Period 29.5.2018-31.5.2018.

In the case of an Upvote post with a reward, the reward would be: $ {reward}

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75