Some thoughts after 10 months away from Steem

in #crypto6 years ago

Been away from Steem for a while.

What are some of the most interesting new projects built on Steem? D.tube looks interesting.

I've always been a fan of Steem but it does seem quite difficult to separate signal from noise on here and on the main page quality does seem to really be lacking. Any potential solutions on this front?

The issue of the early team and miners having so much curation power always seemed problematic to me and seems that may still be an issue.

__

About me: I run 1confirmation, an early stage venture fund. Previously, I worked on business development and marketing at Coinbase. Follow me on Twitter and signup for our newsletter

Sort:  

Hey Nick. The best way to get good signal-to-noise is to just follow a lot of good accounts... the trending page could be better.

If you haven't checked out Utopian, that's the first project I would recommend. Steem-powered open source contributions, it's a wild and very successful example of a new Steem use case.

So true - I looked at the trending page once 18 months ago but never made that mistake again!

The absolute best thing about Steem for the busy folks is delegating your steem power for 20-35% APR.

I generally delegate my power, but I'll be renting steem power soon to help promote my ebook on Amazon, by upvoting people who can show that they bought and rated the book, or resteem my advertisements for it.

Should be a fun experiment in steemit marketing.

Congratulations @ntomaino! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ntomaino! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71452.56
ETH 3843.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44