PSA: There's an IDENTICAL Bitstamp exchange site that will steal your passwords. Beware.

in #crypto6 years ago

Don't get suckered like I did into putting your login credentials into a fake exchange. It's easier to do than you might think.

I was lazy this morning and typed Bitstamp into the omnibar (rather than bitstamp.net) and this generated Search results instead of bringing me to the URL.

Still lazy, I clicked on the first link --- and ad --- and it brought me (so I thought) right to the Bitstamp page. I typed in my login and password and it didn't work. Nothing happened. Tried again. Nothing. I looked at the URL and it showed: https://www.btc-security.com. Legit looking, but not bitstamp.net.

Basically, https://btc-security.com defrauded whoever they bought the ad from (maybe Google, probably an ad agent of some kind) and switched the site so that when people click on the ad (even though they should be able to read better than I can) it looks just like Bitstamp and you put in your info.

I would have lost ALL my money if I didn't have Two Factor enabled. I did, so I'm good. I immediately changed my password. Then, I contacted Google to inform them and they took it down within 2 minutes. The ad is gone, but the bad actors are certainly not.

Lessons:

  1. Type the URL in directly, don't rely on ads or search results;
  2. Be sure and read what you're clicking on, don't be a dumbass like me (the ad was pretty clearly not Bitstamp);
  3. MAKE SURE YOU HAVE TWO FACTOR ALWAYS
  4. If you do something silly, like I did, fix it then post it so it's known to the community.

Here are some screenshots:

Screenshot from about 6:08 this morning. Search term: bitstamp.

Screenshot 2018-01-05 at 6.08.13 AM.png

Fake Bitstamp:

Screenshot 2018-01-05 at 6.08.40 AM.png

Real Bitstamp (looks JUST LIKE fake, right)?

Screenshot 2018-01-05 at 6.09.53 AM.png

Similar situation in 2014:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/2j8d8d/warning_top_add_on_google_search_bitstamp_is_a/

In October 2017:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/78qqmd/new_google_advert_phishing_site_targeting_bitstamp/

November 2017:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2394211.0

Sort:  

Thank You Papacabeza!
With the increased values of crypto- currencies scams to obtain them also increased. An increase of awareness of how sophisticated these scams have become is key to protecting you hard earned money.
It pays to stay vigilant and verify the exchanges we all use!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70013.82
ETH 3766.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80