The fantastic potential lost by under development! Or I’m just stupid and there is a simple solution.

in #crypto7 years ago (edited)

For several months now, I have been signed up to the Bitshares trading platform but only made a few small trades due to the slow pace and lack of good volume. I had previously purchased some tokens as an investment long before the major pump and failed to sell them before the fall as I really believed there was a lot of potential with the platform. The lay out and ease of use was generally ok for the start with plenty of opportunity to improve.
Today I decided to withdraw my current balance of STEEM which I had recently deposited for storage off another exchange. I wanted to move it to the STEEM platform and power up as it was doing nothing only sitting in my wallet. It might as well make a little sitting in my STEEM wallet. I must say I was extremely disappointed! I got a first-hand glimpse as to why Bitshares has been dumped and very little interest growing in the space.
I don’t know what it’s like for the other main deposit currencies as I have not used them on the platform only BTS and STEEM. I have become used to the practice that if you deposit something you can withdraw that same something with the same ease. In the Bitshares platform you cannot just withdraw your funds in STEEM from the deposited STEEM you must trade them for Bitshares or BTC or 1 of the several others that you can apparently withdraw but not with ease. In my personal experience I had to sell my STEEM for BTC which I can confirm is possible to withdraw, I then had to buy it back after I had transferred the BTC to another exchange where I rebought the STEEM with a considerable loss along the way. This was a big shock to me as both blockchains were created by the same people. My point is if it’s not user friendly no one will want to use it. It’s that simple in my opinion, so I sold all my BTS and added them to my BTC withdrawal. Looking forward to the future of decentralized exchanges but for now anyway Bitshares is no longer a viable option for me.
Looking forward to NVO launch!

Sort:  

If I understood this right, you tried to withdraw OPEN.STEEM to your Steemit account? Check this article for a pro guide:
https://steemit.com/steem/@billbutler/transfering-open-steem-to-steem-and-powering-up

No the option to withdraw Steem was completly gone. I have found out since that there was a problem for a few days and the option was removed and has since been restored. To late for me.

The important thing here: it's perfectly possible to withdraw OPEN.STEEM to your Steemit wallet. Just like OPEN.ETH to Ethereum wallet. Or any other OPEN.* asset to any other wallet. Your article should have been edited to reflect that, it's just plain misleading in its current form.

I think the title is pretty much plain english. Any way the option to edit is gone. The issue was a genuine issue when I posted it, further more it cost me a few hundred dollars. The comments will give satisfactory understanding for the rest. Thanks for your concern.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73