The Inevitable Scams Abound - Using Slackbot Exploits on Channels

in #crypto7 years ago

ICO/ITO participants beware! Today I received notices on two Slack Channels from supposedly 'Slackbots". Each advised me to visit MyEtherWallet to ensure my contracts and tokens were safe. The link to MyEtherWallet, however was in one case, MyEhterWallet.co instead of MyEtherWallet.com and the other nasty little buggar was MyEtherWallet.com.im.

One can figure on the loss of one's tokens if they clicked on the link and logged onto the bogus site.

One Slack team advises you should create bookmarks for all your tokens/wallets. I've noticed MyEtherWallet now displays a red banner across the top of the login page advising to be careful of links. Never, ever click on links without thoroughly checking where the link directs.

I can only hope that karma visits the yoyos scamming people and delivers an appropriate outcome.

As I advise all, it's the Wild Wild West in the cryptoverse. Be careful out there, kids. There be danger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62767.81
ETH 2942.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55