You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Need More Privacy! I Need More Security!

in #crypto5 years ago

I don't trust TOR very much. After all, 80% of the project funding came from US Governmental Agencies.

If we don't use it, we might be monitored or not but I have a feeling that we're going to be monitored for sure, if we use TOR.

At home I use Linux Mint. On mobile, oddly enough, I think that a Windows Phone is the safest from the 3 main alternatives. Android, even though it is based on Linux, it's the least safe option. It is very flawed.

Sort:  

Yeah, I've also seen that TOR has 80% of the funding coming from the US gov, which is really weird, but I think that it was mainly because it was first used by the spy agencies, but regardless of that those cryptos trying to do a better decentralized, encrypted internet aren't getting their funding from the US, Skycoin for example actually has McAffee has an advisor, and that guy, even though shilled many scam icos, is all about security and privacy, if he trusts skycoin(even going so far has getting a skycoin logo tattoed) I think it's worth a look...

I'll go through all the linux OS to see which one to install, I was thinking about ubuntu since it is the most user friendly... don't know if there is any actual advantage of getting mint instead of ubuntu...

Just heard about a linux based OS that runs multiple virtual machines in order to compartmentalize each living space. https://www.qubes-os.org/
It seems Snowden recommends it, might be worth a look in the future, depending on how much"safety and privacy" I actual want

The most important decision before installing a Distro is to decide what User Interface you prefer.

Mint is excellent if you like the old Gnome 2 look and feel. Ubuntu is better if you prefer the new Desktop Interfaces post-Gnome 2.

Then there are others (like Mandrake / Mandriva) for people who prefer KDE instead of Gnome.

The best thing is to clean a disk and try several Distros until you stick with one.

But they all do basically the same thing, right? I can do the exact same thing on ubuntu and mint, right? Because I'm accustomed to ubuntu (I've used it before in my last laptop because of hardware problems)

Yes. Of course. It's just the visual look that changes.

Nice, then I'll start with Ubuntu, and maybe with time and experience I'll transition into a safer more secure one like qubes os, especially if cryptos start flying to the moon, increased security and protection are a must to have in this space

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63153.76
ETH 3045.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97