You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Need More Privacy! I Need More Security!

in #crypto5 years ago

I do my best to use Linux and other open source software whenever possible. I like to think that it makes me a little more secure, although I don't know if I believe it. Like you say, the governments pretty much own all the cables that make the internet work. But with Windows 10 logging and recording all your keystrokes, there has to be some difference.

Mostly I notice that my computers run much faster with Linux installed. I hate it when I'm using a Windows PC and it starts heating up and getting slow for now reason. Something is happening in the background, and it's obviously not trying to help me get my work done.

Sort:  

Well, I don't know if we are more secure because of the fact that Linux is an open source program that everyone can contribute too or because of the fact that not many people use it so there are almost no malware or virus being created for it... Still, take a look at qubes OS, it's a Os based on Linux that compartmentalizes your whole workspace in virtual machines, so if one compartment gets corrupted or broken into they can't get access to the other compartments, it's what Snowden uses so the guy must trust at least a little in it...

Regardless of that, I'm probably going to install ubuntu later today or tomorrow on my PC, not only do I feel safer with it I also feel like it makes the whole computer faster... at least it did on my old computer and I don't trust windows very much, especially now after watching Citizenfour and Risk...

Thanks for reading m8!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62841.54
ETH 3040.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92