First succesful crypto mining.

![IMG_E1236.JPG](
For a long time, I always wanted to learn to mine cryptos. So I started with something more simple. (I thought it would be simple) I am mining vertcoin at the moment. I am using this as a learning tool. I just downloaded the Digibyte wallet after hearing much buzz about it. I will make an attempt to install a digibyte miner later. I'm not going to mine vertcoins primarily. I am interested in Dygibyte. I have to say that trying to mine is not easy on my Hillbilly brain lol.
I am going to work and let my PC mine. I turned off my hot water heater and everything in the house off to offset the electrical costs. I am not going to mine full time this is just to learn. It would be easier to just purchase cryptos for me. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

@cosmiccrimes

Congrats on sucessfully mining, though unless you have free or very cheap power I am concerned you may not be profitable.

I personally mine in the cold months of the winter in Georgia. And it keeps my house at a barely tolerable temp. Congrats on mining the lyra2rev2 aglo. Its the only one I know of that is really ASIC resistant at the moment.

I am a big fan of Vertcoin and Digibyte. Vertcoin was the first coin to do an atomic swap with litecoin. You can see a tweet from Charlie Lee mentioning it. And Digibyte has some of the fastest transactions around. I think you are on the right track. Of course thats just my personal opinion and not financial advise :-P

oh and thanks for the resteem!

I forgot to ask what do you mine?

@cosmiccrimes

It has changed over the years, I started with bitcoin, then litecoin, then dash, and many altcoins.

It depends on at time, but Id rather mine small altcoins and even solomine when I can for alot of speculation of future growth.

Bitcoin way too hard to mine now that's for sure.

@cosmiccrimes

Yeah I stopped mining bitcoin in 2014, but did mine with GPUs for at least a year. Then moved on to alts, and as they became too big I then moved on again.

Ill probably mine some coin above the Top 50 in Coinmarketcap when it comes time.

Look like you got in early. When I first heard about bitcoin I thought it was some kind of silly video game token that players sent each other ha ha.

@cosmiccrimes

Yeah ive been on Bitcointalk since 2013, hah I found out about it through VPN subscriptions.

My computer got waaaaay to hot for mining. I had to shut it down. I just wanted to learn a few things about it. You got a good idea, I will mine in the winter it's gets very cold here.
You're welcome on the Resteem.
Also, I know it would't be worth it to mine all day for just .04 cents vertcoin.
I make more money just watching bittube videos.

Have you checked this post from themarky? It looks promising. I haven't had the time to stop and get my pc to mine yet maybe by weekend I can try this and see how it goes. My video cards aren't doing anything heavy yet anyway so this might be a good trial for them.

Thanks for the comment. I will look at that post. I am terrified of frying my PC.

Good you got something going. It’s all a bit confusing to start mining. I still haven’t done anything but power up to have enough VP.

Thank you! Followed!

Thanks. Same here. 😊

Hey, keep us posted on this. I am crypto illiterate so this fascinates me. Let us know in a week or so what's going on with you doing this. Thanks dude!

I did not run it while I was at work. My computer got to hot you could fry an egg on it. I would have to run it 24 hours to get .04 cents. People who mine all the time spend over 10,000 dollars on a setup. I make more money just watching Bittube videos.

Really need a server to do it I bet. That's a bummer.

Rigs with many GPU cards.

Interesting article, write more! Keep me informed.

The mining is way to hard on my computer. I had to shut it down. A normal PC can't handle mining. I have a gaming rig and it still gets red hot. Mining sucks up massive amounts of electricity.
If you want to mine for crypto sign up for Bittube. It's free and you earn crypto for watching videos.

I'm always for you "for"

I'm not sure what you are saying.

I'm always interested in what you write!

Thank you for the nice comment.

Congratulations @cosmiccrimes! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

howdy sir cosmiccrimes! oh man, that sounds like it's hard on your poor computer, I know it really sucks the juice down so this might be a short experiment?

Yeah, It was an experiment. I might mine a little bit when it gets really cold here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95