Introduction to Cryptocurrencies- Help to expand your knowledge (Or mine by commenting)

in #cryptocurrencies8 years ago (edited)

I'm back with my second blog entry today. The world of the cryptocurrencies is one expanding, however I still believe there is a lack of connection, or as I see it, a bridge between everyday people and the crypto-community. There are resources here and there on the internet but people often don't know where to find them or how to further develop their knowledge, me included. The reason for which I'm writing this entry is to share my little knowledge but also to ask people to comment and help me expand my own. I will post every few days and talk about different topics.    

Firstly the main issue that I find is that there are many cryptocurrencies and blockchain projects involving them but people don't know where to start from. Brief details can be found on Google by just typing 'cryptocurrency' or 'bitcoin' but the information found might not be relevant or useful. So by browsing the internet I found a useful link, that, even if is the website of a mining company, can provide brief information about some of the main cryptocurrencies used. It includes Bitcoin, Litecoin, Ethereum, and many others and even if the information provided isn't much it gives links to the main developing websites of each currency. https://www.eobot.com/   

So after finding out what cryptos are, people may wonder what the use for them is, and to be honest, the use of most of them is still obscure to me as well. Apart from the main ones that can be used in specific places or websites, most of them can only be used for trading as a lucrative purpose. However, there are a few websites that have current news and updates about the crypto world, and it may be useful to have a look at them and keep updates with the changes occurring. As previously states, I don't know much so I would appreciate people adding their contribution as it could be really useful. One of the main websites that I use is: http://www.coindesk.com/ , a websites that has new news everyday about this world. It also mentions companies, people and events.   

Another useful resource can be Investopedia.com. Even though this website only has a small section on cryptocurrency it has videos to explain it and can be generally a good resource to use in general for other financial information. http://www.investopedia.com/terms/c/cryptocurrency.asp    

So this is it for today. In the next few days I will upload more of what I learned and some of the people that I follow on Twitter that post regular updates regarding the crypto-world. Thank you for reading and I would appreciate an upvote if you found it useful and comments if you have anything to add.   Matt  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67