You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is this the end of the internet known to us? - NOIA network

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago

Dear @neavvy you have given a wonderful information. It seems to me a very attractive solution of the problems which are making internet slow and expensive.
I think people may have some doubt about using NOIA network as it takes to connect with the internet and have to share own computer resources. Will it not make my computer to visible to the world? Will it not steal my personal information or compromise my computer's security in any way? Please clarify.

Sort:  

That is very interesting comment @akdx.

Will it not make my computer to visible to the world? Will it not steal my personal information or compromise my computer's security in any way?

In order to set up a NOIA node you have to open ports in your router, which will allow users to receive content cached on your device. Generally opening ports is controversial, so I decided to allow experts from NOIA to clarify this issue. That is the reply I got from them:

It is completely safe. We selected ports 8048 tcp and 8058 udp that are free to other functionality, like http connection

There is a team of experienced and reputable people behind NOIA. I think they take care of our safety properly.

If you are still a bit distrustful, if NOIA didn't take care of our safety it is still virtually impossible to get into the device with enabled firewall (Widows system has a built-in firewall).

Thank you for responding. I think safety will always remain a matter of concern for us all. I hope NOIA will be free of everything bad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58557.01
ETH 2992.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74