Windows 10 Mobile Situation and Bitcoin

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Okay, here is the deal. Windows 10 Mobile isn't doing great. In fact, nearly all major app developers / platforms ended their support for UWP (Universal Windows Platform, powers Windows 10 apps).

I can't call it a surprise but oh well. I got on Windows Phone back when it was called 8, after I used Android and before that iOS. Microsoft has to do something about it, and it looks like something Surface is going to happen.


Until then I'll have to wait or switch back to Android again. Sorry, I digress... I am an app developer and, because that's the hardware I have, release Windows 10 apps. The most recent of them is called Octo Financial and focuses on crypto currencies. This is my small contribution to both Bitcoin / altcoin and the Windows 10 platform. You can find my app in the Store or by clicking on this link.

pc-1.png

Octo Financial initial page

Here's what it does: you select a fiat currency from the top-left menu and the app takes you right into the Exchanges page. A tap on 'Update' will then give you following coins in your set fiat on all the exchanges Cryptowatch supports.

  • Bitcoin
  • Ethereum
  • Litecoin
  • Monero / XMR
  • Ripple / XRP
  • EOS
  • Augur / REP
  • Stellar / STR

Supported coins as of August 12, 2017

octo-2.png

Fiat currencies and list of coins on a couple exchanges

By tapping on the result items you get into the chart layout for that specific coin. Since it renders from the Cryptowatch site, it loads quite slow on my Lumia but snappy on the Surface Pro. That's one of the reasons I might consider Android.

octo1.png

A default 4h chart layout on Mobile


For all you devs out there, the tech I used is Cordova and this gives me a really easy pipeline for releasing on Android. By the way, I prefer the iOS look for UI over Material Design. If you like what I do, consider tipping me some Bitcoin. The app has a 'donate' page with my QR code. Thanks!

Note, the screen shots you see are from the most recent build I published today, August 12 21pm GMT, and may take a few days to become available. The version up in the Store right now doesn't have charts.

What do you think - will Windows 10 Mobile survive or should I sign up with a Google Play developer account and build my apps dual-platform? Just reply and if you want you can give me feedback on the decision.

Sort:  

Awesome post! FOLLOW for follow?

Play is probably the safer choice.

Looks like it. Thing is, I really like Windows 10 and MSFT makes great tech lately (Surface, bots, etc.). The phone syncs with my desktop apps. I could compile the code base for Android easily though, that's why I'm considering it. Nokia 3 or 5 is nice. I guess I get one if MSFT doesn't show their new mobile OS soon...

I have a couple friends that love the surface but I haven't tried.

You'll love it. My Surface Pro 4 is one of the reasons I stick to MSFT. But they really have to do something about their Store situation and a good mobile strategy or I'm out of their phone business.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66382.93
ETH 3031.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69