Atomic Wallet Review, Lost $$$, and open letter

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago

I recently downloaded Atomic Wallet on MacOS. My initial thoughts were that it was awesome and pretty user friendly. I sent some Etherium to it and start to move things around to get more of the experiences.

During this time, I exchanged some ETH for TRX. They promote almost instant exchanges, but TRX always seems to take time to me, so I ignored that it wasn't there and went to bed. Upon waking up this morning, there was still no TRX. The transfer has says that it was completed, but upon inspection the Atomic Wallet didn't have my TRX wallet it created for me in the transaction.

This is where things go from bad to worse. I went to their support, and created a ticket. When I submitted the ticket, it kicked me back out to log in. I couldn't get the thing to work. I then went to reset my password, trying to force something and found that they had been sending me email receipts from the tickets. So I responded to one.

In the email, it said to do this and that, make sure you are up to date and all of the normal support stuff. So I went down the list and did all that, including the last one. Go to the Telegram channel for immediate support. The Telegram channel was super active and a lot of help happening. Especially from a channel admin called "Random".

I asked my question and immediately got this Random guy talking to me in PM. He is saying all the right things, asking all the right questions. He then sends me to a from asking me to fill it out so that he can look deeper into the issue. one of the questions was my key. I asked him about it as it immediately became suspicious. But it is their channel admin and they are backed and supported by so many companies. He says the form is encrypted, which it was, and I was eager to have my problem solved so I just went along with it. My very vital mistake, I fully admit, that was my bonehead mistake.

A few minutes later I start to see my wallet clear out in front of me, right before my eyes. While I'm still talking to him (assuming it is a guy). He tells me it is synchronizing. I can clearly see the transaction guy, what the heck do you mean synchronizing? I'll spare you the rest of that conversation as I'm already having to replace words with more appropriate ones.

I then go back to the main chat and let everyone know Random wasn't playing nice and stealing folks coins and someone else was trying to get support on that very issue. I let him know he was scammed, and then Random started to tell me that he never talked to me in another PM, as he cleared the last one. I explained what happened giving the benefit of the doubt that maybe it was someone pretending to be, and then goes into "send me your key, and I'll check it out". A more obvious hack job right there, are you kidding me.

I go back to the public channel and things are starting to get heated up, and the Random guy comes back to me there and asks if I had my tokens stolen. I let the public channel know that yes, and Random was the one that stole it. At that point, Random kicked me out of the chat, for what I assume was because he didn't want me telling anymore people his game.

Of course I let Atomic Wallet know that this was happening, in detail. Their response was, we tell people to not do that. To which I explained, it was "you" that told me to go there, and trust them, and send it in spite of that.

I am not asking for my money back, I admit that was my mistake. What I am saying is that I urge you, Atomic Wallet, to take down that Telegram channel for support and stop sending people there. There are so many people that are having their money stolen and your trust right now is going through the crapper as it looks like you are doing nothing about it. In fact, it looks like people you support are the ones stealing. I mean look, I exchanged ETH to TRX and didn't get my tokens back, I asked for help and your admin came back and stole my tokens. That just does not look good, for you.

1oqaeuu41o.png

Sort:  

I downloaded the wallet and the app deployed the white screen of death. I tried an uninstall and reinstall, but to no use. The screen remained the same.

Yea, things like doesn't help them either. It kills me that Steemit, Binance, and all these other top companies seem to be partnering with them in one way or another. My experience so far is that they are a hack job and only out to steal folks money.

Congratulations @aliendev! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Great heads up aliendev much appreciated a value to the Steemit Blockchain thanks aliendev

Thank you for taking the time to read it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58