You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steem a Collective Fiction or a Collective Delusion?

in #cryptocurrency5 years ago

That is some great writing. I think the cryto currency dealings we see at the moment are very much a collective fiction. With only speculation giving it it's value. The concept appears to be a good one but many peoples values in it are not based on its use case. only greed and fomo.
I think many of the early bitcoin versions will fade away leaving the central technology of blockchain. When it's use cases are fullfilled then I think it will become more valuable and we will look back on this time like we do tulips. Tulips still are beautiful flowers.
Steem has the possibilities to lead this future but I fear with it's uneven distribution and lack of collective direction it can lose it's position to one of the many other blockchain projects. just sayin'.

Sort:  

I stopped giving "content" away out there in cyber space -or even writing for newspapers for free (columns). That's why I like Steem. I am giving a legacy for my family and identifying myself, and this makes me feel I am giving value to my content. But I've noticed all successes still revolve around how you touch other people. If you have something that connects with others than you've got the beauty of the tulip. Steem provides a "place", and the fact it's blockchain provides a measure of quality. That's why I will always stay on Steem.

These are exactly the reasons I am using steemit and will stay with Steem. Well put. When I first discovered it it seemed like a great place to document my work. I don't mean to sound negative about steem but I think with the issues it is facing and the new platforms in development on other chains it is important not to have all my eggs in one basket. Nobody knows which platform will grow from the bulbs they are now into the most beautiful flower.

...right, however, by contributing to this blockchain we mostly feed the few big whales on the top.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67