My Cryptocurrency Portfolio Picks Dec 2018steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago


These are my personal picks as of Dec 17, 2017. I'm not recommending anyone invest in them, just showing my picks. I think bitcoin is stabilized to some extent by the futures investing. I'm not saying it won't still change by 20% in a week, but a lot of the smaller market cap 'aka altcoins' are moving by that much in a day or less. By spreading out my crypto portfolio, I worry less about the volatility. I am not 'day-trading' but also not all of these are long-term (1 yr/+) positions. I am re-balancing my portfolio regularly, so these positions are medium term I would say. I plan to hold them for one week to 1 year/plus depending, and re-balance my portfolio regularly so the percentage in USD that each one makes up of my portfolio doesn't get too far off my target.
My criteria basically are:

  1. does it have unique utility? and
  2. Is it investible right now?

If a coin meets # 1 but not #2 I might consider, but not if it only meets #2 (ie I've stayed away from Dogecoin even though it has done well). Making gains on short term speculation is great, but my longer term outlook helps me sleep at night and if I think it has real utility / adoptability in the future, that helps. "is it investible right now?" for me means has adoption started or been announced? Are there big partnerships happening or in the works? Do others have reason to invest in it, meaning the supply -demand curve may push it up? etc.

Sort:  

What are your current thoughts on ADA? After reading through it, it became my long term hold and star of my portfolio.

I like your list, we have very similar taste!

Definitely like Cardano / ADA. Up a lot since I put it on my watch list, and I think long term it has great utility. Some of these coins that just rely on better governance / protocol / code than bitcoin or ethereum but are otherwise similar - I wonder if adoption will really happen or not because if ETH or BTC just adopt the protocols in updates / forks, but have more market share dominance and people interested in applications in them, will they kind of leapfrog over the advances pioneered by these smaller coins...? But in the short to medium term I like it and they are doing some cool things. May go into 5% of my portfolio on next rebalance!

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

Congratulations @atlien! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.95
ETH 2946.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55