I Just Bought a New Camera...By Blogging on Steemit!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Untitled-1.jpg

Another reason you should be using Steemit as your social media home.


If you didn't get a chance to read my previous post about this topic, you should definitely check out, I Just Paid for Two Plane Tickets...By Blogging on Steemit! It literally pays to be active on this platform!

Just as I did in the previous post, I paid for a new camera with some of the earnings that I have accumulated since I joined Steemit.com last August. I transferred my earnings through Blocktrades and loaded up my Bitpay card. This time, it cost me around 800 SBD to purchase a brand new Canon EOS 6D camera with a lens, an extra battery pack, a 32 GB SDHC card, and a nifty little carrying case.

Have I ever been able to do this by using Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or Reddit?

Nope.

Anyway...here are the goods as I unpacked them.


IMG_3797-1.jpg


IMG_3799-1.jpg


IMG_3800-1.jpg


Once I charged up the batteries, I took my camera out for a quick test of the 24-105mm lens. It was rainy outside, so I found the nearest model for a few quick pictures: my wife's cat. These shots are basically straight out of the box with very few on-camera adjustments. I did make some minor touch-ups to the lighting in Lightroom.


IMG_0012-2-1.jpg


IMG_0014-2-1.jpg


IMG_0015-2-1.jpg


IMG_0021-2-1.jpg


In the evening, after the rain stopped, we took the camera out for a test around the neighborhood. I used a Sigma APO DG 70-300mm lens for the next series of photos. These aren't as crisp as the other photos and I think it may have been the lens, but I can't be certain about that. I'll need to test it again tomorrow with better lighting conditions and some different camera settings. I think I could have had some really great shots tonight, but they all appear to be out of focus or not at full resolution.

Here are a few from the walk tonight.


IMG_0049-2-1.jpg


IMG_0054-2-1.jpg


IMG_0070-2-1.jpg


IMG_0077-2-1.jpg


IMG_0079-2-1.jpg


This is my first full-frame censor camera, so if anyone has any tips/tricks to tell me, please do so. I plan on using this camera a lot and will be sure to share plenty of photos with you over the next few months. I'll be taking three different trips to three different geographic locations with distinct scenery, so I should have a good variety of scenes to shoot.

One last thing...


If you happen to be reading this and you and your friends and family aren't using Steemit for your social media, I have to ask you again...why not?


What are you waiting for?!


Sort:  

Congrats David! always good to see you in discord and glad you are crushing it with your new camera as well.

Congrats with the new camera! Love your wife's cat. Such a beautiful creature! I hope steem may give me the Fujifilm X-Pro2 soon!

Amazing <3. I'm using a highly low budget Milton :(.
One of my ideas was to buy a good camera for say 300 400 $ but at the moment being that's way ahead in the future, due to lack of 💵 :D
Anyway.. Congrats on the new camera, hope you use it with joy and love.
Cheers!
Goldie

Very nice photography. I bought a Canon EOS Rebel T5 Digital SLR a couple of years ago. I am pleased with it, but had not taken much time to learn it. I am now getting a handle on it. Looks like you have a quicker learning curve than me. :0) Like how you paid for it!

Wow. Your pictures are great. @ats–david how much did the camera alone cost you

That is awesome!!! Congratulations. I hope to some day achieve your steemit influence and status. Until then, I will enjoy posting, replying and participating in as part of the community.

Your account is inspirational since i love photography and have no camera of my own yet. Will be blogging hard enough to get a camera by December if all things turn out right. Will qoute this reply in December

Wow Dude, Awesomeness All Around. Love Your Story, Love the Pics...Love that it Paid for itself. I share attitude and outlook.

Steem On,
The Dream is Indeed Live,
We got Golden Tickets

:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49