You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EXPERIMENT - Tracking Top 10 Cryptocurrencies of 2019 - Month Two - UP 4%

I love the level of detail in this... particularly how the Top 10 did against the rest of the market and against the S&P. It's funny, most of my investments to date have been in real estate, and so I've always had the ballpark figures of 3% is good for a straight cash investment (ie, interest rates) while 5-7% is a good investment from rental income. I haven't really played the stock market because I'm a set and forget kind of guy, so it's interesting to see where Crypto sits in all of this.

I do still maintain though, that crypto shouldn't really be for investment, it should be for using and transacting, but that doesn't stop me from buying some more whenever I've got some spare funds.

Sort:  

Thanks man, always appreciate you stopping by! I thought I'd include the S&P because that's the default advice in the US: put everything into a low fee S&P Index Fund, because historically (going back 90 years) the average return is 9-10%. Not bad. Last year it actually ended the year down -6%, but, man, compared to crypto's absolute meltdown, I'd take that annual loss of -6% over a -85% annual loss in crypto :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71